We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Save Saved
You added The Beaufort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Beaufort
Milton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It would be redundant for me to comment, but. Great experience. Easily accessible to other Low Country Islands, including Charleston and Savannah. If you are looking for a "kick back" getaway, this is it. Hospitality. Service; Great breakfast!; Comfort; explain it all.Highly recommend BI.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and for mentioning the qualities of service we strive everyday to provide for our guests - we call this the Quintessential Lowcountry Experience. Beaufort is a very special place and I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    94
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
72
406
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just spent two lovely days and nights at the beautiful Beaufort Inn. The staff was so helpful, the accommodations lovely, location in walking distance of fun shopping and some fabulous restaurants, especially the Old Bull Inn! Breakfast was outstanding; Knox, the chef, is a gem!

We were in the main house and was so glad with my bad knees that there was a very good elevator to get to our third floor room! The only negative would be the very hard, uncomfortable mattress, but the linens and all other amenities were up to expectations. Thank you to all the staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. You covered it all. I will be happy to look into the mattress you noted if you will just email me at sandrachavez@beaufortinn.com to let me know which room you stayed in. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant Beach, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pam and I decided we needed a road trip before the busy season on LBI. Our travels took us to The Beaufort Inn. I made the reservations on SniqueAway for three nights. We were graciously greeted and taken to our spacious room, with a most private porch. The cleanliness was the first thing noticed, then on to the king bed, sitting area, refrigerator and coffee maker...all very much appreciated. The morning brings the sumptuous breakfast; special French toast (varied every morning), bacon, grits, muffins, made to order omelets...what more could you ask. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. We did not take advantage of the afternoon snack, but that was out loss. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Snique Away is a great partner and we are glad you were able to take advantage of one of our rare promotions. Our housekeepers truly appreciate you pointing out the cleanliness of your room. They work hard and it is wonderful to see your comments recognizing their efforts. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Beaufort for the first time the beginning of June. We wanted to stay in the Historic District. I found the Beaufort Inn "online" and booked our stay. We had a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the "cabins" with a living room, large bath and bedroom. We were in walking distance of all the downtown sites. We sat on the front porch and relaxed. Breakfast was delicious. We had dinner in the Southern Graces Bistro which is in the Inn. Wonderful service and an outstanding meal. Great low country choices for dinner. We will definitely return to the Beaufort Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much. Southern Graces is a wonderful experience and I am so glad you loved it. Just to clarify for others who might be interested, your room you describe as "the cabins" is actually our one-bedroom Port Republic Cottages. They are truly spacious and relaxing with a front porch and rocking chairs to take in the Lowcountry experience. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Moving from our Virginia property, the Beaufort Inn is half way on our trip to Fort Lauderdale.
Pet friendly!!!
The breakfast buffet included was wonderful. French toast, omeletes, bacon, you name it.
The staff was friendly and professional

Room Tip: We have now stayed in room 13 and 17. Both had king beds and are pet friendly rooms. The accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for mentioning our excellent daily fresh chef prepared breakfast. Our guests often mention how they truly love the way we start their day in Beaufort. Please come visit with us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I found The Beaufort Inn and the treasures of Beaufort addicting! The Inn was all that we could ask for from the minute we were greeted by Ashley, who gave us a choice of rooms and more information that I ever expected about the town, until we checked out two days later. We stayed in The Carriage House where we had a private garden perfect for morning coffee and an evening glass of wine before dinner. Breakfast was my husband's favorite part and he is still talking about the french toast and homemade ice cream for breakfast! The Chef provided excellent choices and was so friendly. We found the entire area full of history, art galleries, delicious food as well as fresh shrimp right off the boat and vegetables just picked to bring home. A must see on the way in/out is The Old Sheldon Church Ruins and of course the beautiful Hunting Island State Park. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies overlooking the courtyard would be our next choice. This would be the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. On behalf of ownership and management, thank you for recognizing Ashley, she is truly a Southern Jewel. We will ensure she is told about your review as she will be truly excited. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time during our vacation. It was the first time we had ever stayed in a bed and breakfast and we felt like royalty! Our room was exceptionally clean and breakfast was amazing! I wish I could have that recipe for the french toast! Yummm! The Beaufort Inn and surrounding town is very relaxing and served as just the perfect get-away. The staff was very helpful with helping us find great places to eat...especially the evening we arrived, we had driven 10 hours and fell asleep on the super comfy bed and awoke shortly after 9pm and had not had dinner yet. We were headed out to our vehicle to find something when we got in a conversation with the lady at the desk, (I believe her name was Ashley), she was super awesome and called the restaurant, Emily's, just down the street and they stayed open for us to get something to eat (they were scheduled to close in 10min) and the food there was mouth-watering! Staying at The Beaufort Inn felt like a home away from home...it has gorgeous architecture and, being built in the 1800s, is charming just like our old 1800s home. I would definitely recommend The Beaufort Inn to anyone who wants an excellent quality stay with a relaxing location and good ole southern hospitality :)

Room Tip: There is not a pool or fitness center but Hunting Island which is about 15-20 min away offers an ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#6 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaufort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.