We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Southern Graciousness, Charm and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Save Saved
You added The Beaufort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Beaufort
Florida City, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“True Southern Graciousness, Charm and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A unique blend of an Inn and formerly private homes which offer a variety of options for your stay. We had the premier King which is actually half a house with private parking. We were met in the concierge area by Lauren would could not have done more to make us feel welcome and "at home". She escorted us to our room and made sure everything was just so . In the afternoon they serve tea. coffee and home made Scones in the front parlor os the main building. When you read the menu for dinner there is no need to look further you have arrived. They are in the process of renovating another house on premises which will be charming. It is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the many charms of Beaufort. They have a spa area which again is a separate house.

Room Tip: I have to believe they are all great but if you want privacy, space and reserved parking right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    94
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
72
406
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Beaufort Inn feels like a beautiful old home with loads of character, but updated bathrooms to give you modern comforts. The restaurant served delicious food. When you go in for breakfast you are greeted by friendly staff ready to serve you whatever you would like, including excellent cheese grits and some of the best French toast I've ever had. There's a very pretty little court yard in back, and our room, which was actually the house next door, had a great front porch on which to sit and watch the world go by.

Just a lovely little inn, in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Beaufort Inn for one night in April 2013 on our way from Charleston to Florida. We had a suite in the low building next to the main building which was very spacious and comfortable. The main building is a very attractive renovated old home - much of the first floor is given over to restaurants. The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly. We had 3 meals there - lunch and dinner arrival date and breakfast the next morning - and loved it all. The restaurant was as good or better than any place we went to in Charleston. We can highly recommend the Beaufort Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Beaufort Inn has converted old spaces--including a string of historic homes and buildings--into new ones and created a relaxing and open feel without losing the rooms' sense of history. I was impressed. The breakfast is quite exquisite, and the staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. I very much felt at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a lovely, romantic place! Victorian style... Rooms are all named after plantations. We stayed in Room 6, and had a large,semi-private balconey shared with one other room, as well as access to other balconeys and porches on the grounds. Great place to have tea or coffee from our room's pot and watch the birds. Lovely landscape, lots of places to hold outdoor gatherings or weddings and such. Even a few cottages attached to the inn with at least one fireplace! Bed was very comfortable and the pillows were finally stiff enough for a side sleeper! Breakfast included, plentiful and tasty. Outstanding service, and the front staff very willing to help get reservations with local tours. Has an elevator for those unwilling to climb the beautiful circular stairs. Extremely clean, lots of character. One block off Bay Street, the local shopping and eating strip and the waterfront. Easy access to the bridge, great area to walk and look at the beautiful bay, architecture and landscape.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. You hit all the bases! Clean, friendly, great location, superb breakfast. That is exactly what we strive to provide...The Quintessential Lowcountry Experience. We are so happy we succeeded for your visit. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were introduced to Beaufort Inn by a bicycle group. We had a very spacious, comfortable 2nd floor room with a semi-private porch overlooking the Inn's Wedding Garden. When we returned on our own the next week we had a similar 2nd floor room with a porch overlooking Port Republic Street. The Inn is located in the heart of Historic Beaufort one block from the main street, Bay Street, and most of the shopping and fine eating places. A half a block behind the Bay Street stores is a lovely park along the water front.

When we returned on our own, we had checked regular hotels, but all were well outside the historic area. We were impressed with the accommodations, the service and the breakfast provided at such a reasonable rate. All the staff was very willing to meet our every needs.

My wife and I look forward to visiting the Beaufort Inn again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went to Beaufort to attend the graduation of a nephew from Parris Island Marine Corps "boot" camp. We needed accommodations for three adults as my adult step-daughter was traveling with us. We decided to stay at a B&B rather than a hotel and The Beaufort Inn had good ratings (both here at Tripadvisor and at the Marine Parents web site).

To accommodate three adults we went with the Greyhound Flats (two queen beds).

Greyhound Flats are not in one of the old historic buildings. They are across the parking lot from the original Inn building in a somewhat industrial looking one story building. The units are large and decorated in a very modern style. There are two queen beds and two small sofas that each fold out into a double bed. There is a small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and bar sink. The bathroom is huge and the walk in shower is big enough to host a party. While the feel is much more modern than the rest of the inn the room was spotless and very comfortable. The location is even closer to Bay street - only about a half a block - where the shops and restaurants are.

The parking lot for the inn is almost right outside the door - quite convenient.

We were afraid that due to our schedule we might not be able to take advantage of the breakfast. As it turned out, we went to Parris Island early in the morning of Family Day (Thursday) to watch the Motovational Run. It was so early, we were able to come back to the inn and have breakfast and take a nap before heading back over to Parris Island for the 9AM presentation. I should note that the Inn's location is very close to Parris Island making it ideal for attending events like this.

Breakfast was good both days. Coffee, tea and juices were available. A hot buffet with several items was available and omlettes prepared to order (Thursday) and a hash brown and egg souffle (Friday).

While I would like to try one of the "old" rooms, the Greyhound Flats were not a down-grade in any way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#6 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaufort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.