We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beaufort Inn to your Saves list
The Beaufort Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It was fine for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Let me preface this by saying that I am not a B&B fan in the first place.

I spent one night here in January 2013 and found the staff to be extremeley pleasant and accomodating, but the room was small and noisy. I would probably prefer to stay in a different hotel on my next visit to Beaufort.

The rooms were clean, but the room I stayed in was overcrowded with non-functional furniture items. The breakfast that was served the following morning was okay, but the on duty chef/cook was overwhelmed by the number of people attending breakfast and it showed in the food. It was painfully obvious that he would have rather been anywhere but there. The omelet was just okay and the french toast casserole was not my favorite.

Would I choose to stay here again.....No.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargoBurgess, Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. While we are glad you found our Inn clean and good for your one night stay, we are disappointed you weren't thrilled with our Chef prepared breakfast. We make omelettes to order so I am not sure why it wasn't superb but I am sorry it was not to your liking. Beaufort Inn has many types of rooms, including smaller and also incredibly large rooms, suites, flats and cottages. The smallest rooms are our Traditional Queen rooms and our Garden studios. They are our lowest priced rooms and a great value. Most of our other rooms are way larger than a typical hotel room. We appreciate this guest's comments, but suggest all prospective guests call us and determine the best room type/budget fit for their needs. Thank you again, and come back and try The Beaufort Inn but in one of our other room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    101
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
79
422
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Beaufort Inn. The staff and grounds exceeded our expectations. Convenient location to shops, restaurants, and the waterfront. Never once did we hear noise from other guests staying at the Inn. The breakfast Buffett was perfect. Great spot for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to visit Beaufort and stayed at the Beaufort Inn. The location is perfect, a short walk to shopping and dining. The Inn itself was great, and our accommodations were exceptional. We had a king bed in the main Inn, the room was large and well appointed.The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was both inviting and relaxing. The breakfast was fantastic, and included made-to-order omelets, grits, and a wonderful french toast casserole. I only wish we could have stayed longer. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We took advantage of a Living Social deal and booked two nights here, and stayed over MLK holiday weekend. The Inn is a gracious older home, with expanded accomodations acquired as opportunities permitted. Our room was in a "cottage" and had a kingsize bed, a sitting room and a gloriously large bath with both tub and terrific walk in shower with one of those large "rain" type shower heads. It was a very comfortable time. The inn is located within easy walking distance of many restaurants as well as the shopping on Bay Street (the main stores street). Lots of things to do - we went to Huntington Beach State Park on Saturday morning, as well as taking advantage of the horse drawn tour carriages. The weather was terrific - cool but not cold. There is a restaurant within the main inn (Southern Graces Restaurant) and it is the setting for the breakfasts. Plenty to eat, service that is friendly and helpful, good food (the breakfast french toast is sooo good) - what is not to like. A day spa is located adjacent to the inn, but book ahead if you are there on a weekend - its schedule was already filled when I inquired, sadly. The bed was comfortable and the sitting room furniture was too. This particular cottage has a little front porch - perfect for sitting and watching the world go by. Highly recommend trying the Beaufort Inn, and the Southern Graces restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Cottages are very near the street but the sleeping room is at the back of the cottage. You can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We loved the Inn. Our room was so spacious and beautifully appointed. The shower was great.We felt we had stepped back in time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, varied and plentiful. I really enjoyed stitting out on the balcony with the breeze swaying the palm trees. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had the Palmetto room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently spent two nights at The Beaufort Inn. Beautiful setting and gardens -- helpful, friendly staff made our visit perfect. We stayed on the upper floor of the Garden Cottage and had a great view of the garden patio. The included breakfast buffet was delicious -- can't say enough about the french toast casserole. We were lucky to be in Beaufort during restaurant week, and took advantage of this at the Inn's Southern Graces Bistro. Food was delicious and dessert was outstanding. Very interesting talking to Bubba and learning of his experiences. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenel, South Carolina
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

booked this through a living social coupon because we love Beaufort. We just happened to come down during restaurant week. They put us in the Oak plantation room which was absolutely gorgeous. Nice huge room, had a wet bar, nice bath, sitting area and the bed was to die for. looking forward to our full breakfast in the morning. The Inn is situated very close to the downtown Main Street, easy walking distance to most things in Beaufort. Walked to dinner tonight at the breakwater restaurant.
we will come back again and spend some time here.
Lauren greeted us and was most helpful in getting us settled in and gladly exchanged our bottle of red wine for a bottle of white wine.
Definitely a classy place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Family Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaufort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.