We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Drinks... Overpriced and Weak!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern by the Sea

Tavern by the Sea
16 West Main St., Wickford, RI 02852
401-294-5771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Wickford
Price range: $16 - $16
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Drinks... Overpriced and Weak!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Does NOT know how to make a mixed drink... Or they are just that cheap. There is NO alcohol in any of the drinks. I ordered a gin & tonic yesterday... It was tonic, with a splash... Make that a smidge of gin. In a small glass, for $12. This is the third time this has occurred. Stuck to beer or wine. No liquor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    11
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By the Sea!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well, it IS by the sea, and if that's what you're looking for -- here it is! But when the somnambulistic, rather-be-anyplace-else wait-person ambles over to your table, be sure to order the cheapest thing on the menu because unfortunately, whatever you select, it's not going to be very good. And then just keep repeating -- "it's by the sea, it's by the sea" -- and you'll be fine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so good ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I thought this would be s great place for dinner as it is located in town along the water with outdoor seating. I had lobster salad that was very salty and he had an overpriced burger. Wait staff was not that great either. Will not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“still love the Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We go to the Tavern year round and always have great meals and appetizers. It does get crowded during the summer, but it is still worth the wait. The 'specials' are always a hit and the service consistently great. Especially love the chowder and lobster bisque to start our meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decieved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Well, having been here in the past and enjoyed everything about the place I was looking forward to a birthday lunch. I specifically ordered the Italian tuna salad as it was dressed with oil and lemon and not balsamic vinegar. When my salad arrived it came with a side of some thick and sticky balsamic thing. When I informed the waitress I had ordered oil and lemon she told me it was already dressed with it and that she had brought the side of balsamic because I might like more dressing. I couldn't figure that out. It had no oil and lemon. I then asked the waitress to bring me oil and red wine vinegar. She brought me balsamic dressing. At this point I gave up. When asked if everything was all right I said no. I haven't even brought up the fact that there were no green olives as advertised and the " italian" tuna was not Italian but just a can of whatever they had. Sad.They compt the salad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern by the Sea also viewed

Wickford, South County
Wickford, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Tavern by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.