We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambassador Motel
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Motel to your Saves list
201 Post Road, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westerly
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night while in the area. The rooms were clean and cheerfully decorated. We didn't expect much for a little out of the way motel, but we were pleasantly surprised. The owners/managers were friendly and helpful. The price way very good, and I really love patronizing local, family owned businesses. Much better then the cookie cutter chains. I'd recommend the Ambassador and would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bionandy, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for making the effort to review us. We are indeed family owned with pride in our motel and over 50 yrs of service. Time can change a lot of things but our standards are still for clean, quiet and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Preston, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We couldn't take our yearly 12 day fishing trip this year. Elmer (Fudd) wanted to get away for a couple of days to fish. We love RI. We had stayed at the Ambassador in the past and were very satisfied there. I called to see if they would still be open and they were. We stayed two nights and the fishing was great! We always choose the suite as we like alot of space. It is always very clean. You are kept furnished with all of the things you need, including daily clean towels and washcloths etc. Brad and his wife are lovely people! They are honest and fair with their prices. I enjoy visiting with them both. It is a very quiet place, even though it is on the main road. We have never had a problem there like with have at other places with certain types of people. It is a enjoyable place to be. I would highly recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: We like the Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bionandy, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We would like to thank the "Fudds" for taking the time to write a review. They, like many who stay here this time of year are here for the great fishing on and off our beaches. Its the best time to visit as the crowds are gone,the water is warm,rates are lower and the fish are "In". I'm sure "the certain people" referred to by the reviewer are the wild party youth who flock to our great beaches in the summer months. We tend to aim for the more mature clientele who are looking for a relaxing beach stay and a good nights rest. Families are very welcome as long as they are accompanied by mature adults. Thanks again "Fudds" LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is certainly a no frills motel. It was a one level, beach motel with 9 rooms. The rooms were clean and the owners were polite, friendly and helpful. You need a car. There are quite a few grocery stores, movie theaters, restaurants, etc. located nearby on Route One. And the beach and Watch Hill are a short drive away. The small refrigerator was a money saver. Breakfast was a little lacking but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Even though it is right on the highway, I did not hear any noise from the road. Lastly, I agree that the beds seemed a little dated but I slept wonderfully here. Got a great night's sleep both nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bionandy, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We am what we am, we am, we am. We're a clean, comfortable and quiet motel. We have no pool, no restaurant or bar. No golf course or exercise room either. We like to think of ourselves as an oasis of clean, quiet and comfortable. Its almost a mantra here. Thank you for the kind remarks directed to our people being friendly and helpful. We don't accept internet bookings or use a booking service. Reservations must be made by phone. We do try and be good hosts but we also expect guests to respect the motel and the other guests. May you soon be "On the Road Again".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador motel this past weekend. It is a very good value. The rooms and furnishings are not brand new, but very clean. The owner was very nice and had good information about restaurants in the area. The State Beach is less than 10 minutes away. The motel is right on route 1, but once the door is closed it was very quiet. We would stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bionandy, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the kudos, return soon. We often hear "good value" and "clean rooms" when people review our motel. This is especially true of the many who stay here rather than pay the nearbye high ocean front resort prices or the sky high Casino areas which are a short drive away. We really are a great bargain for those who value clean, quiet and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

...so what can you expect? Rooms were clean, well equipped (small refrigerator was very much appreciated), and the owners/managers very gracious indeed. But the air conditioner was very loud, with no settings other than "strong, blow right on the sleepers", and the beds were old and saggy. We had a great weekend, but there were definitely "opportunities for improvement".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bionandy, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
"Its a Beach Motel"?????? Au contrare mon Ami. LOL. We do thank you for the review. We encourage people to be honest in their opinion because it gives us a way to correct any deficientcy. The saggy bed was found to have two broken boards inside the box springs. Some children find the real test of a bed is to see how high they can bounce. If you had not mentioned it it may have gone unnoticed all summer. The air conditioner (not to quibble) has two speeds, high and low, three if you count off. LOL. I know you guys are experienced travelers and were great guests but "Its a Beach Hotel"???? OUCH!!! Was there sand in your bed? Was there wild parties in the adjoining rooms?? Were you charged an exorbitant fee just to hear the waves crash at 3AM? Sorry, the hectic season is over and I'm having a little fun at your expense. We really would love to have you back.
B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are looking for a nice quiet place in Westerly this is it. Location is perfect! 5 min drive to the beach! Owners are very nice and helpful. They always had fresh coffee in the morning. In my opinion breakfast was a little less than average but there is a Dunkin Donuts on almost every corner in RI, so we just went there. If we ever get back to RI we are sure to stay here again!

Room Tip: I think there are a total of 8 rooms. Any one will be as clean as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bionandy, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our goal is to provide a clean, quiet, and comfortable oasis. We do offer a continental breakfast on weekends only and our K-cup coffee maker is very popular every day. Thanks again.
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The owner is very friendly, and he really emphasizes the no smoking policy, which was great. The room and bathroom were clean and pleasant-smelling. The decor was chintzy but cute; the towels had little smiling fish and dolphins embroidered on them. I would recommend bringing your own soap, however; the shampoo/conditioner provided was minimal at best. The TV, air conditioner, fridge, and WiFi were all in working order. It's in a really convenient location. For the price, a great find. I'd happily stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motel

Address: 201 Post Road, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westerly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned business well located between N.Y. and Boston with easy access to Newport, Mystic,casinos and close to local beaches of Misquamicut and Watch Hill. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.