We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Andrea - restaurant only now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrea Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andrea Resort Hotel
89 Atlantic Avenue, (Hotel currently closed for renovation; will reopen in 2014), Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Westerly
Albany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Andrea - restaurant only now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I didn't write a review because I already had...but I thought I should update it. The hotel is gone, but the restaurant is there on the patio only. Covered or uncovered. The old fireplace is out on the patio also, so you can have a fire at night to have a drink by...right on the beach. I love this place for lunch....we can sit on the beach and when hungry walk over, get out of the sun, have a drink and a VERY good lunch, while watching the ocean and passers-by. It is lovely. They are supposed to have a hotel there this summer, 2014, which would be a VERY large undertaking. Can't wait to see if it happens. BUT, lunch is wonderful. Haven't been for dinner yet, but I'm sure it's delish. We've been before it was destroyed for dinner and it was very good. We always have a great time there. And after reading a review or two that gave the place a bad review, I do believe you have to DECIDE to have a good time. If I am on vacation, everything is good, even if it's bad. And we all have our own tastes too, mine is usually a bit more upscale than some others...so you can take it from there. I would recommend definitely!

Room Tip: No rooms yet...we'll see this coming summer tho!! Hope hope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    6
    4
    14
See reviews for
17
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I thought that this historic building would survice an A-bomb, but Sandy must have damaged it to the point that there was no saving it.
Its sad in a way because even though The Andrea was not the best room/hotel we previously stayed at in Misquamicut, it was a landmark for the area. All that is left of its original self is the main fireplace that now sits on a concrete slab patio outside. I'm glad a few of the historic pictures survived the storm though. They have them decorating a back hallway.
It was a pretty rainy day so we went over for some drinks and apps to wait for the sun. We got a couple of pitchers of stuff, White Sangria and Margarita. Both were good and not the weak drinks we expected. I thought they were priced fairly at $28 since you can get 5 drinks out of each. We got some wings and a buffalo chicken popper special. They wings were good, but the special was more like fried dough balls with tiny pieces of chicken. If they renamed it buffalo bread poppers that would have been a little more accurate. Don't get me wrong they tasted great, but more chicken would have been nice.
The new resturant and bars looked good, but I still hope rebuilding the hotel is in the future.
Service was good and prices were fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My father and I headed to the Andrea for a drink on a blustery, rainy day. We headed to the bar in the tent area and sat at the bar where we looked out at the ocean in the comfort of a protected area. They also had the most unique space heaters with clear cylinders displaying the flames.

My dad and I both had an agave margarita with Don Julio. Dylan the bar tender was great, friendly and helpful. The drinks were fantastic. The food coming out looked really good, I would definitely go back and try some next time I am back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

If you want a relaxed place to eat ? This is the place and the food is very good. When I was there they were very busy but the staff looked like they were handling the crowed just fine. I will definitely go back. You can't beat the view, right on the ocean, the beach is right there. Life is good at The Andrea.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was a friend's birthday and we drove out to Westerly to celebrate. 4 of our friends were from out of state. Bouncer asked to see back up for a friend. Showed the bouncer license, social security card, credit card, and gov ID. Bouncer proceeded to bend the license and it snapped in half. Obviously this would outrage anyone. Manager said was called and so were the police to file a report since friend had a flight 5 days later in which he needed a valid ID. Manager was beyond rude. When police report was filed to state it was a valid license, manager turned us away and said we were not allowed to go inside, AFTER THEY MADE THE MISTAKE. Of course anyone would get mad when they have to spend $60 on a new license. If you want to get treated like dirt, this is a great place to go. I'm sure it would've been a nice place to celebrate someone's birthday, but none of us will be returning to give them one cent of our mon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited the Andrea yesterday with friends. It's only the restaurant this year due to Sandy. Had a great lunch in their "white wedding tent". The sea was roaring, with the surf up and we were enjoying the view in this comfortable new venue. They added some new items to the menu. I had the spinach and beet salad with seared tuna and it was wonderful. Large portion. Very healthy. Looking forward to a visit with the sun shinning.

Room Tip: No hotel this year. Only restaurant. All new and well done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The Andrea Hotel was destroyed by Hurricane Sandy last year, but the restaurant is still open to the public. Came here last night and there was a huge covered tent attached to the new building (at least I think its new?). The tent was heated, and parts of it were clear so you could look out and see the ocean (the place is right on the beach). I must say it was really nice.
The food was great, ESPECIALLY the coconut mussels and the fried calamari. I am telling you the coconut mussels were to die for. To be honest, I was skeptical at first and thought that the coconut flavoring was going to be to overpowering, but that was not the case at all. They were quite possibly the best mussels I have ever had. If you like fish, TRY THESE MUSSELS. I love the town of Westerly and Andrea's.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrea Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea Resort Hotel

Address: 89 Atlantic Avenue, (Hotel currently closed for renovation; will reopen in 2014), Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Westerly
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Hotel's website: The Colucci Family has been welcoming customers summer after summer to Misquamicut since 1946. The new hotel will be designed to allow us to continue our tradition of welcoming guests to the shore. The rebuild will be done in phases. The first phase will include partial demolition of the main building and the rebuilding of outdoor decks and restaurant. The Andrea will be open Memorial Day Weekend 2013 as a full service ocean front restaurant. The second phase will include the building of a new Andrea Hotel. The new building will be carefully designed to keep the spirit and comfort of the Andrea everyone loves. The New Andrea Hotel will be scheduled to open for the 2014 summer season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Andrea Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrea Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Andrea Resort Hotel to your Saves list