We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Andrea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Andrea
Save
You added The Andrea to your Saves list
89 Atlantic Avenue, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Westerly
Westerly, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I returned to Misquamicut Beach after having a bad time, and I'm glad I did. The Andrea was just what the Dr. ordered. It wasn't too fancy, the people were friendly, and there was a bar located in the hotel, which meant that all the people there were at LEAST 21 which was a nice change after the last time. I would really recommend this place. I WILL be heading back!!

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the parking lot are a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    7
    4
    14
See reviews for
17
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Old hotel right on Misquamicut Beach. Unique with low ceilings, floor elevation changes inside rooms. We stayed on upper floor, corner room overlooking beach. Storm hit the night we stayed, up to 50 MPH winds out of south directly at hotel. I was worried about noise from leaky windows/door walls, waves crashing. Room was very quiet, I was pleasantly suprised. Food at restaurant was pretty good; fried calamary was tasty, Andrea burger was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Andrea is a cute little hotel with its feet planted firmly in the sand of Misquamicut Beach, RI. It is cute, fun and even a little frisky.
The hotel was built around the turn of the last century, when it opened as a tea room/bed and breakfast. In 1938 the Great New England Hurricane wiped most evidence of human habitation off the landscape of Misquamicut and washed it out to sea. Along with present-day Paddy’s, the Pleasant View hotel, and the Atlantic Beach Casino, the Andrea was one of the only four buildings out of 400 that were not destroyed or swept away.
In 1946 the Ralph Colucci Sr. and his family bout the tea room and re-inaugurated it as The Andrea. The family continues to own and operate it today.
The hotel is fun and informal. All the rooms have balconies and either a side view or a front view of the ocean. The views are spectacular, in fact, especially at dawn and sunset.
On the first floor is a small game room and a fairly extensive lounge and dining area. For just under $10 you can score a reasonably good breakfast with unlimited seconds. You can eat it in the dining room or take it out to the patio café to inhale some salt air with your scrambled eggs, bacon and pancakes. For lunch and dinner the menu includes very good hamburgers and fries, flounder fish and chips, crab cakes, wraps, scallops fried or baked, a variety of salads, some interesting soups including clam chowder and a first-class lobster bisque. The wait staff was great. The guys were sunny and helpful and the girls were young, beautiful and charming, if you like that sort of thing.
From lunch to lights out there is an engaging party atmosphere pleasing to adult tastes and still well enough under control that you can bring your young children. The vino –and scotch, gin, vodka and Tequila— is constantly flowing to a background of well-chosen music. In weekend evenings there may be a live band playing with the general hilarity ramped up once the kiddies have gone to bed.
The rooms are pretty basic (and can be on the small side) but ideal for real beach vacationers. They include a shower, air conditioning, a comfortable bed and a mini-fridge. The constant roar of the waves makes a great white noise background for inducing slumber.
On the next round of remodeling (The Andrea remodels frequently) I think it woul be great to install a swimming pool and an elevator. The lack of those amenities was a minor annoyance. The visit was a major joy. The hotel closes in mid-October but will probably reopen for April of 2013.
Did I mention that the rooms were reasonably priced? If nothing else, The Andrea is a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel for a party crew. Would not recommend for a family. VERY loud till 1am when the band or DJ stops. Nice outside bar, lots of party people. Room smelled very musty, AC was good...typical beach motel

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location of the beach & hotel was great.We didn't have to leave. The restaurant,bar & DJ were right there in the hotel. When the rooms were booked. We were not told that only one car per room was included & any additional cars were $10.00. In total there were ten girls with 5 cars in total for all three rooms. Meanwhile they were charging to rent out spots in the hotels parking lot during the day for people not staying at the hotel & wanted to spend the day at the beach. So the parking was very limited for hotel guests during the daytime. The rooms were small & very old looking. The rooms had pipes going through it & all along the hallway,which was very, very narrow. Felt like we were in the lower deck of a ship. The main bathroom on the lobby level which was used by guests, people from the beach & people in the restaurant bar, was absolutely disgusting . The floors were wet & sandy with toilet paper all over it. To top it off it was about 99 degrees in there, no exhaust or air conditioning. To top it off only 3 stalls for hundreds of people.on the last day four of us were the last to check out, all in 1 car. While we were packing up the car the cleaning lady came running down in a rush & asked what we thought was room #207. She said a Kindle was left in the room. We took it stating three of our friends had Kindles in room #207. One of which had to leave earlier that morning, due to a family emergency. So we would take it & give it to whomever it belonged to. We were already pretty much in Boston when the hotel called & said we were given a kindle by accident and the lady whom it belonged to was irate & could we come back & return it. Was explained we were pretty much home & would be happy to put it in the mail the next morning & send it back to the hotel as requested. I was sent back early the next morning cost $30.00 to mail. Called hotel & spoke with front desk to give them a courtesy call to let them know the Kindle was mailed. I believe that i should have been reimbursed the $30.00 that was spent from my pocket. After all i was kind enough to take my time to go to the post office & return it to the hotel ASAP. The least they could have done was reimburse the money. She became very unprofessional and rude on the phone, refusing to refund the money. Stated we could not return to the hotel & was putting us on a no return list. There were no complaints made against us by any guests or hotel staff during our stay. The manager who is also a firefighter, comes & goes as he pleases. Was very unhappy looking man, never smiling & not much help. It was our annual girls weekend trip & now we feel very disappointed with their mannerism. So all in all we will never recommend this place to anyone! PS SAW ALOT OF UNDERAGE DRINKERS!!!

Room Tip: no swimming pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The location is awesome, but the lack of up keeping is just annoying. The little
Things are what pulls a place together. The Brocken lights, dirty rugs, dirty tables, dirty windows, and cheesy beach theme decorations (everywhere) are outdated.
The buffet breakfast ($10.00) the eggs were so over buttery, and NOT fresh they were clumpy and stuck together it was so gross. When I asked for a fresh batch without butter they said "no sorry there is butter already mixed in the batch. Proving its not made fresh.
They hashbrowns were over cooked and hard as hell. So my bf and I left and went to the pleasent view inn for breakfast

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent a few nights at the Andrea this month. We had an ocean front room, the balcony was great, but previous reviews about the size of the room are definitely correct. Our room was small, bathroom very small,, but both were very clean.. We came for the beach,, so didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room anyway, so weren't to disappointed. The balcony was directly over the outdoor seating section of the restaurant,,, and we didn't find the music to loud while we were there. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions. The beach was wonderful, gets pretty crowded during the day. Had lunch at the restaurant and breakfast one morning, lunch was very good, breakfast buffet is your standard issue buffet, but again no complaints.Bar outside at the restaurant, and a large bar inside,, drinks were good. We walked the beach and noticed the other hotels there that were also right on the water,, many of them seemed older, so not sure if there would have been a dramatic difference had we chosen one of them. One complaint I did have were moths,,,they were everywhere, including in our room!! The ocean front balconies have big spot lights attached at the bottom of them to light up the restaurant/beach area, so I'm assuming that's why there were so many. Sitting on the deck at night was a little disconcerting with them flying all over the place. Some folks left their doors open during the day to their decks(there are no screens), and I did not leave ours open, because I didn't want any moths flying in,,,but they got in anyway...I would loved to have had a screen on the door, so we didn't need the air conditioner on and could hear the ocean. We were there midweek so noise from night time entertainment didn't bother us. If you're looking for a place right on the beach,and don't mind a small room,, this will fit the bill...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andrea

Address: 89 Atlantic Avenue, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Westerly
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front dining on the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Andrea Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.