We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andrea Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andrea Resort Hotel
89 Atlantic Avenue, (Hotel currently closed for renovation; will reopen in 2014), Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Westerly
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent a few nights at the Andrea this month. We had an ocean front room, the balcony was great, but previous reviews about the size of the room are definitely correct. Our room was small, bathroom very small,, but both were very clean.. We came for the beach,, so didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room anyway, so weren't to disappointed. The balcony was directly over the outdoor seating section of the restaurant,,, and we didn't find the music to loud while we were there. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions. The beach was wonderful, gets pretty crowded during the day. Had lunch at the restaurant and breakfast one morning, lunch was very good, breakfast buffet is your standard issue buffet, but again no complaints.Bar outside at the restaurant, and a large bar inside,, drinks were good. We walked the beach and noticed the other hotels there that were also right on the water,, many of them seemed older, so not sure if there would have been a dramatic difference had we chosen one of them. One complaint I did have were moths,,,they were everywhere, including in our room!! The ocean front balconies have big spot lights attached at the bottom of them to light up the restaurant/beach area, so I'm assuming that's why there were so many. Sitting on the deck at night was a little disconcerting with them flying all over the place. Some folks left their doors open during the day to their decks(there are no screens), and I did not leave ours open, because I didn't want any moths flying in,,,but they got in anyway...I would loved to have had a screen on the door, so we didn't need the air conditioner on and could hear the ocean. We were there midweek so noise from night time entertainment didn't bother us. If you're looking for a place right on the beach,and don't mind a small room,, this will fit the bill...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    6
    4
    14
See reviews for
17
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we just came back from the andrea, while we enjoyed the atmosphere and most of the staff the room we had was closer to a closet rather than a room (rm 201). the actual closet in the room was an indentation with 4 wooden pegs...the bathroom was fit for a barbie doll. when it came time to back only one of us could be in the room due the lack of space. disappointed to say the least

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family stays at the Andrea every year, several times per summer. My husband and I occasionally join them, although it's not really our ideal spot. I have personally stayed in rooms 302, 303, 304, and 207.

People who love to stay at the Andrea go for the proximity to the beach, and for the vibe on the Patio/bar during the day and evening. It's definitely a party hotel that caters to adults (over 30 crowd during the day, 20-somethings in the evening). So if you're looking for a nearby place to party on the beach a-la-Cancun, then the Andrea is the right place.

In addition to the party scene, a big advantage to the Andrea (over nearby hotels) is that many of the rooms have private or semi-private balconies, which does add a certain sense of security. Another nice touch is that if you're just coming for the day, they reimburse part of your parking fees in the form of drink/food tickets. Obviously its a marketing scheme, but the price to park is still the same as other places right on the beach, so it ends up being worth it.

I've seen complaints about the management here but I've had nothing but pleasant interactions with them. Actually I feel that they've gone out of their way to be accommodating on a few occasions. So it might be hit or miss.

That being said, the hotel accommodations themselves are a disappointment. The rooms are old, but not in a quaint or cottage-like way, just old. The beds and the linens are uncomfortable. But everything is usually clean. The Ocean Front rooms are definitely the most fun for people/ocean watching but are the worst for the noise. The beach is really nothing fancy and gets crowded very quickly. Everything is overpriced, from the food to the rooms themselves. However, the convenience of being right on the water, and having a restaurant on-site make the bloated prices a little more worthwhile.

The housekeeping staff could be a bit more polite. They do talk quite loudly while cleaning the rooms and I have heard them complaining about patrons, which is very unprofessional. It's especially surprising because the hotel supports a party atmosphere, so a certain amount of messiness is to be expected, I think.

To summarize:

The good: Location right on the water, really fun scene on the patio and in the bar, private balconies are a plus. If you're only staying for the day, part of the parking fee is reimbursed via drink/food tickets.

The bad: Rooms are loud, everything is overpriced, beach is not that great and gets very crowded.

The ugly: The rooms, haha! And also the housekeeping attitudes.

Do not stay here if: You have young children (and they're not doing a special child-friendly weekend), you need perfect quiet to sleep, you are traveling on a budget, you are looking for five-star accommodations, you have mobility concerns or require an accessible hotel/beach.

Stay here if: You've got some money to spend and are looking to party.

Room Tip: If you're still interested in staying here after reading the reviews, and don't mind the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This trip was intended to get a little sun and relax. We were warned about the loudness that we would hear due to the live band and 25 cent wings, which was fine. However, everynight whether DJ or live band the level of the music shakes the rooms. I was in rooom 204. Music starts at 10am, and goes till about 1am. Theres a very small window of relaxing. I have never seen a room so crooked. Your knees hit the sink when using the toilet, and I am not a tall person. When you open the door to the balcony the wind goes through the room and lifts about 10 ceiling tiles at a time which gets your attention. At night along with the music, the huge spot lights are directly above the balcony so all the bugs gather so you cant sit out there. The smell of the carpet stuff they use smells horrible, and when that passed all i could smell was mold. In room 204 one of the beds headboard is opposing to the linen room where the hotel staff keeps the towels and things, we knew exactly what time they started their work day with the slamming of the door and the loud talking. Then someone actually opened our door with a key and realized they were in the wrong room. They did slip a sorry note in with complimentary breakfast for two. We already decided after looking at the buffet that we werent gonna eat there, but we used the ticket anyway and gave it a shot. It was ok. The reason we chose this place is because i thought i had stayed there before years ago and knew it was a good time. It was actually the Pleasant View Inn that we had wanted. We walked over and made reservations for Sept.
It was loud, and for too long, certainly over-priced for such poor room conditions, and I am exhusted. If you dont want to sleep at all, if chemicals smells over the ocean is your thing, and you like the feel of a
"Willy Wonka house", then give them your money. They also charge on season prices when others are not. They obviously get the cash because of unknowing guests like myself. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Go party there is you like, but the nice thing is you can leave, and go to a real nice clean room.

Room Tip: stay at the pleasant view inn, they even have a pool, and its quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Andreas is the place to go when you need a break from the daily grind of work -- only about two hours away from home. This is the perfect place to come and play. The Andreas is full of history as demonstrated on the walls near the registration desk.

We stayed on the third floor, beach front. The room was small, and the walls were a little thin, but our room was very, very clean, equipped with a refrigerator and small table with two chairs. Would have liked to have a microwave included in the room though. Also found the bed a little hard, but after a day of eating and drinking out in the sun, I had no difficulties at all falling asleep.

The best part of this short vacation stay was the glass door located on the opposite side of our bedroom door -- yes, the door that opens out to the patio. What a view!! Listen to the waves crash and watch beachgoers don on lotion and soak up the sun as you sit on your own private patio with your beau, sipping on a glass of wine along with some cheese to nibble on.... Perfect! And this was off-peak, early June.. just imagine if it was peak season and the band were playing down on the patio below... Guess we'll have to come back and find out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have always enjoyed eating here. The food has always been good and Monday night is kids night. We can relax and take in the view and a good drink while the kids play in the sand or any of the fun activities they have planned. We have always enjoyed the food but the service can be just OK. Its a fun place without being all "jersey shore" like some of the other places around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I just went to RI and had lunch ON the beach at the Andrea. We have eaten there before too and always had a good meal. Our lunch was VERY good. I had a caesar salad with chicken and it was huge and delicious. The service was exceptional. We had a new waiter there, Joshua, and he was excellent. The beach was just cleaning up for summer, so the tractor was evening out the beach while we ate. It was the first All Sunny day and people were already laying on the sand. I, in fact, got sunburned from sitting at lunch and then laying on the beach too! It was great. I can't wait to go back! The ocean is calling.....!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrea Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea Resort Hotel

Address: 89 Atlantic Avenue, (Hotel currently closed for renovation; will reopen in 2014), Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Westerly
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Hotel's website: The Colucci Family has been welcoming customers summer after summer to Misquamicut since 1946. The new hotel will be designed to allow us to continue our tradition of welcoming guests to the shore. The rebuild will be done in phases. The first phase will include partial demolition of the main building and the rebuilding of outdoor decks and restaurant. The Andrea will be open Memorial Day Weekend 2013 as a full service ocean front restaurant. The second phase will include the building of a new Andrea Hotel. The new building will be carefully designed to keep the spirit and comfort of the Andrea everyone loves. The New Andrea Hotel will be scheduled to open for the 2014 summer season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Andrea Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrea Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Andrea Resort Hotel to your Saves list