We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 84 Tavern

84 Tavern
15 Canal Street, Westerly, RI
+1 401-596-7871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 128 Restaurants in Westerly
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: railroad Avenue
Transit: Amtrak Station located across the street.
Carmel, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We never expected to have one of the best meals we've had in a long time in Westerly, Rhode Island! We had dinner there are first night. It was so good we went back a second time on the way home. The second time we could not have dinner but we're pleasantly surprised by happy hour! We shared a bunch of wonderful half-price appetizers. It will always be a place will go when visiting Rhode Island!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New location,same Great food.!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Took some friends for Brunch,haven't been there since they moved,..Everything was the same,...Beautiful new location,Brunch was Excellent,!!,Bloody Marys were top shelf,!!. Great service,comfortable seating,!!!,We shall return, Soon,!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Safe Choice for a Good Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have been to the older location countless times and have been to the new location for dinner and lunch twice each.

Lunch on Saturdays, at least on the early side will provide you with a near empty restaurant but still a quality meal with good service.

Dinner is always great, lately they have been hosting beer pairing and tap take over nights, which just increases our frequency and desire to go. At one point they had a Blueberry Lavender cocktail and my wife loved it so much that we used it as our signature drink at our wedding.

The staff is always on their game, the portions are fantastic and the atmosphere is great. Sometimes bit loud on the bar side, but its also the bar side.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred454
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Comfy and cozy with a consistently delicious menu offering. Friendly staff and excellent service. I have enjoyed some of the dinner specials as well as the dinner salads. I am particular that the fish be fresh and they never disappoint. The bar is friendly and check out some of their specialty cocktails.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our go-to place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food here is incredibly consistent and high quality. We eat here probably 8 times a year, both in their old location and in the new one. They struggled with changes to their menu when they first moved and are still ironing things out a year later. Some things, like their works burger, or seafood parmesan pasta are no longer on the menu, but they usually are more than happy to make them for you if you ask. The ambiance at the new location is great, especially since they added a little more lighting to the dining room. Faves are the fried oysters, the panko chicken stack, the burgers, of course, and any of the pastas. Get the half portion of pasta if you order an app - they are huge!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 84 Tavern also viewed

Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
 

Been to 84 Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 84 Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.