We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Westerly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Longo

Trattoria Longo
12 Canal Street, Westerly, RI 02891
401 315 2952
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 113 Restaurants in Westerly
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Westerly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit and both were wonderful. I don't understand any of the negative reviews. The staff is friendly and the service is prompt for a very busy operation. The cuisine is New York Italian. Fresh, fresh, fresh. Authentic, not like most of the " Italian" restaurants in the area. Last night was veal night for the four of us. The veal with arugula, the Parmesan and the veal chop special, were all superb. Tender and tasty. Our starter salads were ample. The martini list is extensive, try the cucumber. Yum.
The four of us agreed that it is definitely our favorite restaurant in the area and that it's worth at least a monthly visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MISQUAMICUT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“sour grapes ???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I guess if i was a lawyer or an attorney who owned restaurant(s) i may have felt a bit threatened by this operation but who am I, thankfully not an ambulance chaser..just .kidding..The food was very very good..although Italian food can be very regional you may or may not experience the identical ingredients as your grandmother used but all the food here top shelf...The service is maybe a bit less formal than a snobby French restaurant but we think it is wonderful..warm andfriendly and we know no one actually we just moved to ri permanently a few months back.....we think this restaurant will become the town favorite
before too long i'd bet on..ooops but thats not illegal.....does anyone know an Attorney who never a lost case?..lol.....go to Longosyou will enjoy it but it can be expensive if you get a special....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Run don't walk away from this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food is okay but the owner and his manager sister are rude, obnoxious, and ungracious. This restaurant is not catering to a Westerly crowd. We spent the night listening to the f-words fly from the guests next to us. Totally out of line but condoned by the owner. You couldn't pay me to go back. What a waste of a lot of money. There are too many nice places in Westerly that deserve and appreciate your business.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have had some good meals here but the last visit was a dissappointment. After being told that we would be seated at the next table, we were passed over for four tables because friends of the staff kept coming in. After we complained, they finally seated us.

My daughter ordered lobster Fra Diavalo. Several minutes after everyone else was served, they brought my daughter a plate of pasta with 3 small limp shrimp on top. We called the waitress back to ask where the lobster was and she told us they were out of lobster. Since everyone else was almost done with their meals, my daughter was too embarrassed to send her dish back and start all over again. We ended up getting her a pizza on the way home. To add insult to injury they did not remove the meal from our bill but only gave us a few dollars off a "lobster dish" that cost $36.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Drove for over an hour, and would do it again in a heartbeat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I received a gift card to Longo's for Christmas, and have been eager to use it. We decided lat night was the night, so we hopped in the car and drove over an hour to their Westerly location. The building itself offers a private parking lot and two entrances. We sat at a private table in the corner and began looking over the menus. The service was timely, knowledgeable and precise! We ordered two glasses of wine: Riesling and prosecco, as well as two appetizers: Antipasta and Calamari. Both the drinks and the apps were incredible. They also bring over fresh bread with oil, cheese, and red pepper flakes for dipping. For entrees, Longo's was featuring a vast variety of specials, as well as their everyday menu. We decided on chicken marsala and penne alfredo with chicken. Both meals were mouth watering, made to order, and piping hot upon arrival. We concluded our meal with a glass of their house-made peach cello, which I would highly recommend.
Thanks so much Longo's for a GREAT dining experience! We will visit again soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Longo also viewed

Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Trattoria Longo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Longo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.