We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ella's Fine Food and Drink

Ella's Fine Food and Drink
2 Tower Street, Westerly, RI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ella's Fine Food and Drink is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 127 Restaurants in Westerly
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Granite & Ward Sts
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We went to Ella's because we were going to be in that area and it was a nice surprise to have a great dinner. The service was a little bit lacking because it seemed the waiter was a little overwhelmed but I don't get too bothered by that. I'm more interested in the food and it did not disappointed. The appetizer I had was tuna tacos and they were the best and I could have more two more plates. The two entrees we had were the chicken and believe me my friend is the chicken man since basically that's all he eats. He said it was the best chicken he ever had. I had the swordfish which was cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely go back again when I am in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good Food - Nice Ambiance - Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The food was very good from a varied and interesting menu, the wine list was above average, the ambiance very nice for an evening out with friends, but the service was inattentive, slow and a bit officious, which ruined the evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, RI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"We're not in Paris any more"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although the food was excellent and the ambiance was pleasant the evening was ruined by our intrusive, officious waiter who scolded our out of town guests when they attempted to assist in the placement of dinner ware. No one at the table felt comfortable because of his pretentious attitude.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Inventive food in intimate setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Four of us dined on a Saturday night during Restaurant Week, when a 3-course dinner was offered for $25. Usually the RW menu can be a little dull, but numerous interesting choices were available. In addition the regular menu was not only creative but well-priced, with most entrees in the low teens to mid-20s. Our entrees included shrimp tempura, salmon with coconut basmati, penne with pumpkin cream, and mommas buttermilk chicken. We all cleaned our plates! We had started with an apple and butternut squash soup, intensely flavorful. The best dessert was an apple torte, but the pumpkin cheesecake and chocolate mousse cake were enjoyable too. The restaurant was full but the noise level was blessedly moderate. We had a nice booth. We'll be back for the regular menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Romantic, Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great romantic dining with reservations and wonderful exciting foods to choose from. Booths could be a little more spacious, but that is only complaint. Food is fresh and delicious. Best place locally for great dining with reservations during our summer beach season.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella's Fine Food and Drink also viewed

Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Ella's Fine Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ella's Fine Food and Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.