We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 yrs and Counting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Beachfront Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandcastle Beachfront Inn
Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Beachfront Inn to your Saves list
141 Atlantic Avenue, Westerly, RI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Westerly B&B and Inns
Milford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“7 yrs and Counting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and i have been enjoying Masquamicut for many, many years...Seperatly, until 2006 when we got married..now we spend our anniversary at Sand Castle Inn Every year. we love the girls at the front desk, the employees are polite and eager to make yr stay comfortable. We live on the beach in Ct. and travel to yr hotel on the beach for the waves, the pple, the view, and the ability to relax and enjoy everything about SandCastle and everything surrounding it!!...there is no other place we'd spend the most special day in our lives...Our hearts hurt when we heard Sandy devestated the whole area but our deepest sadness was "will Sandcastle still be there?"..im so glad you will be up and running again...it took me 2 years to draw the picture from the beach side view of the hotel and am looking forward to seeing it in the office...Please let us know if it was salvagable...we made copies...thank you for all these yrs of BLISS!...see you in June!
sincerely,
Joe and Robyn Liscinsky

Room Tip: the bottom level beach side is very cool and breezy on those late summer days of August...but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went to Westerly, RI for a getaway with two other couples at the end of September. We just all wanted a litlte getaway. This is a very clean beachfront hotel. The price was right for off-season. We would stay there during the peak of summer. The views are spectacular. The room was extremely clean. It was small, but I don't mind small if the room is spotless which it was. This is a great beachfront hotel. Yes, I agree with previous reviews, the beds could have been more comfortable. If I had to also change one thing, it would be that people wouldn't be allowed to smoke on the balcony. The balcony is shared by all rooms, so the smoke drifts quite a bit. Other than that, it was great!

Room Tip: We changed rooms to be on the second level since the weather was iffy. I would suggest staying on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I are "regulars" at the Sand Castle Beach Front Inn. The rooms are spotless --- which for me is most important --- and the staff is warm and friendly and very accomodating. The location speaks for itself and the rates are extraordinarily competetitive, if not much lower than other hotels on the strip.

The Sand Castle has been our primary vacation spot for the past 13 years so so. It's our home away from home. We stay multiple times during the Summer season and many of the vacationers are repeat visitors. We would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you want an ocean-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Location is great. Beach is a little crowded but less so than the public beach. The A/C is noisy but must be left on as there is no window only a patio door. The office closes at 9:00 p.m. There is no bar or restaurant on the premises, just rooms. The rooms are exceedingly small, with the smallest shower of my life.(no there's no tub) Do not attempt to raise your arms in shower. However all this might be tolerated for the sake of being next to the beach, if it were not for the WORST beds. They seriously need to replace the beds. Overpriced for no service, no amenities and a bad night's sleep.
Oh, and did I mention NO REFUNDS and PAY UP FRONT before you discover how awful the beds are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Located 20 yards from the ocean small seasonal inn very clean rooms with friendly staff. Nice private beach with own lifeguard who regulates the beach when the beach is so crowded met many people who been coming there for years. We are now booking are reservation for next year. We stayed 3 days and loved it inn was very well maintained. Rooms are very basic but clean. But 20 yards from ocean makes up and plus. That's what we are there for ! Thanks for ocean sounds at nite and great views Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: On the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The beach was beautiful. The rooms were clean, but the beds were old and creepy. The mattress was saggy. It was the worst. When the sun was shinning, you could see the these holes in the curtain. They haven't put any money in this hotel in years. The staff was very nice and the maids did their best cleaning. But they have to buy some new mattresses, they were discusting.

Room Tip: On the second and third floors you can get on ocean front room with a beautiful porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

we just stayed 4 days. the fact that this is right on the beach is worth every penny. this is a simple hotel, yet very clean, and friendly staff. nice knowing there is overnight security that keeps people who are not staying at the inn out, and a lifeguard that keeps the beach private and safe. booked same room for next year. highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Beachfront Inn

Address: 141 Atlantic Avenue, Westerly, RI
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Beach Front Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Beachfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.