We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute BEST Hotel on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Beachfront Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandcastle Beachfront Inn
Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Beachfront Inn to your Saves list
141 Atlantic Avenue, Westerly, RI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Westerly B&B and Inns
Hopewell Junction, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolute BEST Hotel on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I are "regulars" at the Sand Castle Beach Front Inn. The rooms are spotless --- which for me is most important --- and the staff is warm and friendly and very accomodating. The location speaks for itself and the rates are extraordinarily competetitive, if not much lower than other hotels on the strip.

The Sand Castle has been our primary vacation spot for the past 13 years so so. It's our home away from home. We stay multiple times during the Summer season and many of the vacationers are repeat visitors. We would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you want an ocean-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Location is great. Beach is a little crowded but less so than the public beach. The A/C is noisy but must be left on as there is no window only a patio door. The office closes at 9:00 p.m. There is no bar or restaurant on the premises, just rooms. The rooms are exceedingly small, with the smallest shower of my life.(no there's no tub) Do not attempt to raise your arms in shower. However all this might be tolerated for the sake of being next to the beach, if it were not for the WORST beds. They seriously need to replace the beds. Overpriced for no service, no amenities and a bad night's sleep.
Oh, and did I mention NO REFUNDS and PAY UP FRONT before you discover how awful the beds are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Located 20 yards from the ocean small seasonal inn very clean rooms with friendly staff. Nice private beach with own lifeguard who regulates the beach when the beach is so crowded met many people who been coming there for years. We are now booking are reservation for next year. We stayed 3 days and loved it inn was very well maintained. Rooms are very basic but clean. But 20 yards from ocean makes up and plus. That's what we are there for ! Thanks for ocean sounds at nite and great views Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: On the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The beach was beautiful. The rooms were clean, but the beds were old and creepy. The mattress was saggy. It was the worst. When the sun was shinning, you could see the these holes in the curtain. They haven't put any money in this hotel in years. The staff was very nice and the maids did their best cleaning. But they have to buy some new mattresses, they were discusting.

Room Tip: On the second and third floors you can get on ocean front room with a beautiful porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

we just stayed 4 days. the fact that this is right on the beach is worth every penny. this is a simple hotel, yet very clean, and friendly staff. nice knowing there is overnight security that keeps people who are not staying at the inn out, and a lifeguard that keeps the beach private and safe. booked same room for next year. highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Sandcastle is literally 20yards from the ocean. My room looked right out onto the ocean and it cost me pennies! The room was really clean, and was extremely reasonable compared to the rooms I rented for $200+/night on my way up here that were right next to the highway. I love the private beach...it was nice to know that the staff kept eyes on who was coming in and out. The staff were very helpful and courteous! I can't believe I paid what I did for such a clean room on the ocean. While on the beach, i got to meet some couples who have been coming to the hotel for a very long time. They talked of how the owner has watched their children grow up, and that they make their reservations years in advance, as this Inn has become a part of their family tradition. Even though my trip was unexpected, it was such a great experience that I booked a trip to bring my family in a couple weeks! I was just a walk-in, and was amazed by my experience and family-feel to this hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet stay on the beach with friendly people

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the Sandcastle for one night. It was one of the worst hotel experiences we've had. No better than an Econo Lodge. Unpleasant room with old lumpy bed, 2 lumpy pillows, a paper bath mat, one small soap bar, not a single amenity, dirty "private" beach with old and sharp wood broken off from the fence and sticking up in the sand. And a sign off sheet telling us what we COULDN'T do rather than welcoming us. Absolutely disgusting. Worth $59 at best. No wonder the Pleasant View Inn was booked. Same price and superior in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Beachfront Inn

Address: 141 Atlantic Avenue, Westerly, RI
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Beach Front Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Beachfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.