We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cool beer selection.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Malted Barley

The Malted Barley
42 High Street, Westerly, RI 02891
(401) 315-2184
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Westerly
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
old saybrook, ct
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“very cool beer selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love places like this. what's not to like? people that care and are trying. There's no nitpicking here. It is what it is. Racer 5, smuttynose, dead guy, sierra ipa 2x, and on and on. Great spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Dont come here looking for a Martini. They are a great selection of beer on tap. The bar food is really good, I like the pretzels. The staff is nice and helpful. The outdoor seating area is smoke free which is nice but for the people who smoke you have to leave the outdoor area and you cant bring your drinks. The one thing I don't like is it is either too bright or too dark, they need to find a happy medium. If you want a beer and you're in Westerly, this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury,CT
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Westerly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family has driven through Westerly for decades on the way to our favorite New England beach but rarely have we stopped to enjoy what the town has to offer. Planning a roadtrip with special family to enjoy a beautiful warm September Saturday, I stumbled upon the reviews of the Malted Barley. After looking at the drink menu and beer offerings, i knew it was a perfect spot to add to our intended list in Westerly. It didn' t disappoint.

I think the typical beach route between CT and Ri, doesn't normally include a detour onto High Street. The Malted Barley is tucked in between a strip of bric-a=brac stores. Upon entering, the interior is fairly sparten with a huge bar along one side of the room and a line of tables along the exposed brick on the opposite side. I had read in another review that there was an outdoor seating area and we immediately made a beeline toward the stairs since it was obviously not on the street level. The lower level of the bar leading to the deck, has additional seating and a foosball table.

The outdoor deck is a fairly small area overlooking the Pawkatuck River and was a perfect spot on this warm sunny Saturday to enjoy superb cocktails, a great selections of beer and fabulous pretzels!!! There is seating overlooking the river and 4-6 tables on the patio. Though a limited cocktail menu as specialty beers are their thing, our choice , the Cosmos, was excellent; a twist on a typical cosmo in that it was muddled with oranges and lime. YUMMY. The Pumkin beer was also a hit, rimmed with cinnamon and sugar..what a great and delicious twist! Just about every beer is offered as a sample...you can make your own beer flight! Most of the samples run $2-2.50...a great way to sample some of their more unusual offerings.

Their food menu is limited but it doesn't matter since what they do offer, PRETZELS.... are great! One of our party declared them the best pretzels she has ever tasted! We sampled the salted as well as the Jalapeno/Cheese. All are freshly made and baked and served hot. Both options were delicious. There are several optional dipping sauces available as well.
Sandwiches are also offered on pretzel rolls. After we visited a few other spots on this perfect September Saturday, we circled back to the Malted Barley for a sandwich to end our day. There are only a few options on the sandwich menu: turkey, roast beef, cannelini and bratwurst. Our group sampled the Bratwurst and Roastbeef and were definitely enjoyed.

If you are passing through the Westerly Main Street area on the way back from the shore or just driving through, it is certainly worth a stop!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wherever I travel I look for a brewpub, unfortunately none to be found in this area. So I went on Tripadvisor to see what was nearby and saw this place and after looking at their website, decided it was worth a visit. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. Great selection of beer and great music and unique choice of food...all fresh baked big pretzels, either as a appetizer, sandwich or dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

They have an awesome Shandy, along with some great micro-brews on tap. Highly recommend the pretzels. No need for the dipping sauce (really good with just salt) but different concoctions are available. Laid back atmosphere. Foosball downstairs. Good spot to hit with friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malted Barley also viewed

Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
 

Been to The Malted Barley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malted Barley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.