We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Inn Resort
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Inn Resort to your Saves list
8 Crandall Avenue, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Westerly
Clinton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Almost 2 years ago my wife and I took the dive into timeshare ownership at the Atlantic Beach Resort. We are Interval International members and we feel that the Resort is a great value for our family. Though, we have traded in our week to go elsewhere, we are close enough to come out for a getaway on any given weekend. The beach is really nice and its great to be on a private area vs public. The beach is situated inbetween "The Andrea" and another hotel so its understandable there will be noise besides the crashing of waves from the ocean. Our teens enjoy it and the pool at the Resort is a great place for them to go if the water is too cold or rough. They always have parking either at the resort or off site for the owners and the office staff makes sure that we are taken care of. Yes, people are really sloppy in the summer, their staff does their best to make sure that the resort looks presentable- outside as well as inside. They always seem to be polite to us and our family. Anyone that has ever complained about a shower outside a pool in a resort should relax- lets just say again, nobody gets paid enough to clean up messes from slobs. They get the job done! Looking forward to many more years visiting RI beaches from CT.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is an Interval property, however I do wonder when they were last evaluated by them. Upon arrival we were warned that the housekeeper had memorized every item in the kitchen and each piece of linen. This set the tone for an unpleasant stay.
On the plus side, they recycled their trash. On the negative side, we were required to take out the trash. We were on the second floor and my husband is 70.
Spa: Guests are required to take the cover off the spa and replace it. The pool was frigid.
The kitchen items were an interesting array of mismatched patterns. Not only the utensils, but the dishes, glasses, cups and saucers. More importantly, the refrigerator door had 3 missing shelves.
The living room carpet was soaking wet upon our arrival. Concerned that they might believe we had somehow created this catastrophe, since the ceiling showed evidence of water damage, we alerted the desk of the condition of the carpet. They said that they had just cleaned the carpet. We could put nothing on the floor for 3 days because the moisture was absorbed by whatever we put down on the floor. The sheets and pillow cases had blood stains in numerous places.
The beach. This postage-stamp sized beach has absolutely no beach furniture. There are no chairs, no chaises, no umbrellas. Nothing to be had. If you cannot bring yourself to a standing position from a reclining one, you cannot use the beach. There is no warning, no disclaimer in the advertising that one must bring their own beach equipment.
Deck. There is a deck outside the bedroom. In order to gain entrance, one must kick the door open as it is so warped, it is impossible to simply push it. The cheap plastic chairs are covered in fungus.
The bathroom sinks are very slow to drain.
If you lose your room key, there is a $100 charge. If you lose your wrist band to the beach, there is a $10 charge. The desk clerk commented that a guest had lost their bracelet in the heavy current that had threatened to carry them out to sea. She was not concerned about the potential loss of life in the tide, it was the loss of the silicone bracelet that concerned her.
This is an Interval property. I find that absolutely astonishing. The mish-mash of kitchen equipment is trivial. It is the attitude of the clerks, the fungus on the furniture, the broken refrigerator door, that troubled us.
It is not wireless, by the way. We did not have any modern electronics, such as flat screen televisions. This place was built in the '60s and stayed there. The furniture must have been acquired at an inner-city 1960s estate sale. There was nothing attractive about the unit except the ironing board cover that was covered in a collection of light houses.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this property to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We loved the closest to the beach, the indoor pool, outdoor grills and hot tub!! Great Location and Staff!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Booked this as a last minute 2bedroom for the week at a great price through timeshare network. The location of this place is perfect. the beach is right across the street, and the surrounding area of Westerly, and Watch Hill are very nice. If you do not expect much from this place, you will be fine. It is fairly clean, however the amenities and facilities need attention. The pool is clean, and the hot tub is clean although both are dated. The room we had was a two bedroom which was a 1bdrm with an adjoining studio. The Jacuzzi did not function in the room, and the carpets need to be replaced or even better removed. Carpets do not work well in beach areas IMHO. The laundry facilities look as if it has not been attended to since the 70's, you would be better off taking your clothes out to be washed. The furniture is rather modern and clean and the rooms all had TVs lcd or plasma. If your intention is to spend the days at the beach, or enjoying the beautiful area then this place should be an option if you can get it for a reasonable price below market, otherwise you may want to consider another place. The other positives are parking is free ($10 to $20 in area), there is "a" tennis court and basketball court across the street. You get beach passes for the private beach. There is little or no need to drive anywhere except to go shopping (Stop n shop/Walmart 10 min away), or visit the surrounding areas (Mystic, Newport, Block Island, or Watch Hill). The rooms have kitchens, And all appliances and housewares you will need. All were in great shape or nearly new. Be aware however that average summer rentals in the area seem to go for $5000 a month for some reason (beach beach beach), and the area is very nice.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We booked an efficiency for a week through Interval and we paid to upgrade upon arrival to a one bedroom on the second floor. The villa was beautiful and had an upstair loft like bedroom with a balcony and a 2nd half bath. The balcony had a gorgeous view of Misquamicut Beach. Even though it was school April vacation week for us, the area was extremely quiet. Only a short walk to the most gorgeous beach. We had the beach all to ourselves most of the time. The queen bed upstairs was comfortable and the pullout couch was not, but no pullout couch is comfortable to me. But it was fine.

The indoor pool was warm and perfect for my three children and they loved it! The kitchen in the villa had everything I needed. A Super Stop & Shop and Super Wal Mart only minutes away. Although no housekeeping for the whole week, we didn't mind since we weren't in the room much.

Nice location near a nice beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

My wife and I stayed from the day after Christmas until the day before New Years Day. It is a great central location to visit to see Watch Hill, Newport, Mystic, and Mohegan Sun Casino. We hope to visit again this year.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Small units
  • Tips/Secrets — Very quiet in th winter
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2005

Very disappointing stay at the Atlantic Inn. The first unit we were given (#10) had wires hanging from the ceiling in lieu of a smoke detector. We complained, and were told that they were waiting for a replacement. After some hesitation, they probably realised this was illegal, and we were offered another unit (#11). The TV in that unit had intermittent problems, and eventually failed completely. We asked for it to be repaired or exhanged, and left for the day. Upon our return - no change. When we asked we were told that they could not access the unit as we had the only keys - they had no Master key apparently. Again, we moved to another unit (#5). In this unit, the Jacuzzi tub did not work (there was the same problem in unit 11). Units 5 and 11 and the pool area had ant traps in them, which we were not warned about. Through all this, the customer service ranged from lukewarm to hostile and unhelpful - the check-in list of "don't's" is not particularly welcoming.

Other low points were very cheap furnishings such as towels (poor quality and not many of them), pillows (ditto) and plates etc. There is no housekeeping other than towel exchange (on specific days only) unless you pay extra. Additional towels cost extra too.

I try to find good everywhere, so I will say the indoor heated pool was very nice, but that is really all I can say good about this place.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Inn Resort

Address: 8 Crandall Avenue, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Westerly
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Westerly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.