We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be swayed...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast

Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
308 Shore Rd., Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Westerly B&B and Inns
Greenfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't be swayed...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

By the other reviews. Hosts were very congenial, helpful. Breakfasts were very, very good and, unlike some B & B's, had a choice of egg dish or 'sweet' dish. Extremely clean & elegant building.
For our 'wandering' purposes the location was ideal- close to beach, Rt1. On the negative side,
since the loss of the magnificent maples, their location @ a busy intersection can be noisy.
And our room choice was okay for a 2-day stay but not longer (see Tip). Note both 'cons' are not in direct control of the hosts. Overall, 8 out of 10
P.S. Don't forget the winery-- If you like Merlot you have to try their Misquamicut Merlot

Room Tip: P.S. If size is an issue avoid the Norway Maple room. Others are larger, more amen ties
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

the Owner/Manager gives the word hospitality new meaning. From his lack of assistance in helping me with my bags up two flights of stairs to his unpleasant rude manner, it was an unbelievable experience.
Our room, at the top of the house, on the corner, was shabby (as is the whole place)with one small mirror in the narrow bathroom. It was noisy, being at the crossroads, and when we complained in the morning, we were told that we should have closed the windows and put on the air conditioning to avoid the noise. Just what you want from a "sea view" room. We changed rooms across the hall, which was quieter with a bigger bathroom, again lack of mirrors and only one bedside table. we had a another 'problem' with the Owner when we checked out and for the price we paid, I would have rather gone to a motel, at least you know what you are getting. Basil Fawlty is alive and running a B & B in Rhode Island.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Booked a stay here for my fiance's birthday. The owner was friendly and the house is truly lovely. We had a room with a large bath and jacuzzi tub. We did a wine tasting and relaxed in our room before going to dinner in Watch Hill. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and delicious. We enjoyed our time here and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

While the historic building is charming, the decor inside is tired and shopworn. Although our bathroom was updated and spacious, the towels were ripped and had holes in them. I looked forward to breakfast, but it was unexciting, bland and the coffee was beyond weak. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's on an intersection with a stoplight and the traffic noise was almost omnipresent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

For the first time at a B&B, we thought it was great. The work put into it showed and the decor was very serine and relaxing. We thought breakfast was great. Some of the other post put down the owners, but we thought they were spot on. We asked about the area and they gave us some info and printed out info from the internet. Gail & Joe were great hosts. They engaged in conversations with us. We had a group of six. We were able to sit outside and have a few cocktails. All of us are excited to return to the Inn. Coffee and tea outside our room was a great touch, and we were asked what we wanted. Being an amputee, the stairs were a little difficult but it's a B&B, not a hotel. I preferred staying here than a hotel. It had a good home feeling to it. thought the price was reasonalbe considering you're minutes from the beach. HATS OFF TO GAIL & JOE. THANK YOU

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Based on a HOLIDAY weekend, so-so overall. Hosts were scarely around. Tending to the winery maybe? No warm-and-fuzzy feeling B&Bs can have we have seen. Many rooms, our spacious one was facing a road very vehicle-trafficked with noisy motorcycles, service trucks. Located on a corner property. Traffic-lighted intersection. No trees or natural barriers around the location to buffer when it's like that. Amenities were okay. The window AC unit was furthest from it's proper 3 prong outlet to operate. Needing a 3 prong ext cord, no host easily around even with the late hour to ask for help. Opening the window to cool off w/o AC was letting in the LOUD street noise. Not far from the ocean beach.
A winery on the grounds was different. A simple breakfast prepped by the one host was fine. Be aware of location, ask how to get in touch with host for help after bedtime hours!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

From the pictures on the website we expected a traditional Bed & Breakfast affording charm, peace and New England hospitality. Boy can pictures be deceiving! To begin with the facility is located on the corner [less than 50 feet] from a busy intersection of the main road to Mesquamacut Beach, fully equipped with speeding cars, loud motorcycles and periodic sirens of emergency vehicles. Night time traffic is particularly annoying when sleep becomes an issue. We would suggest you ask for a room as far from this front corner intersection with its horns and revving motorcycles as possible. Further, that touted lovely ancient maple we hoped to see. Gone. We’re sure the inn was lovely after it was remodeled, but currently could use some TLC. The owners efforts seem primarily directed at their winery. With the exception of the brief breakfast appearance, neither owner can be found at the inn. Their winery business seems to flourish, but the inn has been forgotten. Oh yes, please check which floor your room rests upon. Not a deal if you’re in good physical condition, but if climbing sixteen steps every floor would be an issue [yes very high ceilings] choose a different inn. Yep, no elevator, no handicap accessibility [not even handicap bar to help with the very deep whirlpool bathtub], and no website mention. One final point, the bed. It’s not good! We carry a three inch memory foam mattress pad [for the “just in case” beds]. Even with the pad, the ‘old mattress’ just ‘ain’t what it used to be’. The owners need to choose: Great Bed & Breakfast or Great Winery. Doesn’t seem like they can do both. The write up speaks of “many porches” to choose from to sit and read up. Well there are two; the front porch closest to road and noise or the side porch which is slightly less noisy, but the walls of that alcove are covered with spider webs and grime from not ever being power washed. It wasn’t very inviting. Also of note is that the air conditioning is only available on the top 3rd floor, which did afford some slight muffling of the intersection noise. WiFi strength was poor on 3rd floor. I guess some folks are just so thankful to get away from the ‘big city’ that anything looks ‘just wonderful, but we’ll investigate other B&Bs in the area for our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 308 Shore Rd., Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Langworthy Farm Hotel Westerly
Langworthy Farm b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.