We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mold reviews are true” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Dollar Inn

Save Saved
You added Sand Dollar Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sand Dollar Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Post Road, Route 1, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Westerly
Hartford, CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The mold reviews are true”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night during the 4th of July holiday, we just drove down to Misquamicut without any reservations and knew we were going to stay in a cheap hotel. As soon as I walked into the room, the stench hit me- MOLD. It was really overpowering. I'm sure it came from several different sources, but one source for sure was the mini-fridge- it had green mold growing in the freezer section. I wish I had taken a pic! Besides the smell, the bed felt like a waterbed, every time my husband moved, I got bounced around, and the pillows were lumpy. Other than all that, it was fine. It was very quiet, that was probably the best thing about it. Oh, and the room with the king-sized bed is super tiny, not sure about the ones with 2 double beds.

Room Tip: If you're allergic to mold- move on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    3
    3
    20
See reviews for
11
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because we thought it was cheap and only a couple miles from the beach. The workers were so rude when we first arrived, the rooms were gross, there was beetles crawling all over, it smelled awful, and there was no bathtub. Also friends came to the beach to visit so we had them back to the motel to change and shower and got told there were no guest after 7:00 or they would be charged 20$ each. Never will i ever stay here again. They should be shut down for good. If your considering it run the other way. Pay the extra money for a hotel on the beach it is so worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Booked a room online for a one night stay. I have a medical condition that is magnified by the presence of mold. As soon as I walked into our room, my condition worsened. I am allergic to mold. Seems they just painted over it instead of treating it. Management refused to return my $120. Poor business ethics. Do yourself a favor: DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My family and I (spouse and infant daughter) were looking for an inexpensive place to stay so we could visit a hospitalized relative. We needed something basic, as we didn't have a lot of $$ for the last-minute trip but weren't willing to compromise on cleanliness. We reserved here through their website, and couldn't have been happier.

This is an older motel, so the buildings and rooms look older and the rooms are not very large, but the public areas and our room (#23) were sparkling clean, the beds were comfortable, and there were no bugs or unpleasant odors of cigarettes, damp, etc. However, I did learn that the motel has 2 designated 'smoking' rooms for guests who refuse to go without, and those presumably do smell of cigarettes. I wouldn't have been willing to stay in them even before I started new-mom worrying about my baby's lungs, but they weren't full enough for this to be an issue).

The location was perfect for us: the motel is only a few miles from the hospital, is on a major road so is easy to find, and is set back (unlike 2 other motels on this road) so that there are no noises and you can't actually see the road from your room. It is not within walking distance of either town or beach, though, so others may find that inconvenient. Finally, the owner/manager was very nice to us -- let us check in early, upgraded us to a room with a larger bed once she saw we had a baby with us, and when we had to shorten our trip unexpectedly didn't charge us the clearly posted cancellation fee.

If you want a hotel where you hang out in your room all day, where you can walk to the beach, or can pop downstairs for dinner or a spa visit, this isn't the hotel for you. But if you just need someplace clean and comfortable for you and your family to have an affordable trip, you couldn't do better.

Hope these details are helpful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

we were lucky because we had a heavily scented candle with us to mask the musky odor of the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay. We stay for a week every August. It's quiet, clean, very comforable. I recommend Sand Dollar to my friends and co-workers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

From check in to check out i had nothing but bad experiences. the check in lady/manager was unfriendly and unprofessional. I booked through hotels.com and when i checked in she did not enter the confirmation number that I gave her then she claimed that hotels.com did not send her any information about my reservation. now I am getting charged twice for one terrible night in this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone under any circumstances

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sand Dollar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Inn

Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Westerly
Sand Dollar Hotel
Address: 171 Post Road, Route 1, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Westerly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Dollar Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sand Dollar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Dollar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.