We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic luxury on Atlantic shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean House

Save Saved
You added The Ocean House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean House
1 Bluff Avenue, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Watch Hill
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classic luxury on Atlantic shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the most beautiful ocean shore hotel & spa I have aver stayed in! Nothing extravagant, nothing overdone, nothing catchy of tacky, The Ocean House is luxury at its best. I stayed there in November, weather was very cold. Very sobre and boutique like from the outside, you feel the warmth when you walk in, in a beautiful, tastefully decorated lobby. The lounge is wide and confortable with cosy, steady furniture. The rooms are fabulous with a large bathroom semi-open to the bedroom. Beds are fantastic with the highest quality mattresses and linens.
The service is only outstanding, with knowledgable, professional, helpful and welcoming staff.
Spa has a sea water swimming pool, large enough for lap swimming.
No need to mention the Atlantic shore beauty!

Room Tip: Pick an ocean side room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for pointing out how enjoyable a stay is at the Ocean House even during the non-summer months. We work very hard to provide a memorable experience at all times of the year. Please visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    39
    27
    19
    14
See reviews for
56
221
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just returned from our second annual "spring overnight" to the Ocean House in Watch Hill, Rhode Island. These guys just keep getting better which is pretty amazing. We stay in plenty of very nice hotels/inns/resorts and no one does the little things better than the Ocean House and the property and location can't be beat. I said in my last review that there is no better ocean-front resort/property in New England and I absolutely stand behind that comment. Last March it was sunny and 75 degrees; this week it was sunny, windy and 35 degrees with some snow on the ground. It doesn't matter!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you mentioned that Ocean House is great no matter what the season or weather. With our Five-Star OH! Spa, our fine-dining restaurant, the amazing location and scenery, the spectacular art collection around the hotel and the interesting resort activities year-round, Ocean House is a great place to be any time of year. We look forward to welcoming you back next spring.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

A visit to Watch Hill, RI as spring is just about here is a great way to energize and gear up for the warm weather at The Ocean House. We checked in to a very friendly, and accommodating staff, eager to please and make us feel at home. We sipped our champagne and were shown to our beautifully appointed and nicely upgraded room ( unexpected and greatly appreciated OH!). My wife and I couldn't be happier. We overlooked the majestic sun drenched beach and magnificent property.
We immediately went straight to the gym for me and spa for my wife and enjoyed a good two ours of relaxing in the pool/ and facilities. We repeated this each day.
I enjoyed the bar for a while and then we went to Seasons the Farm to table restaurant which was outstanding,we ate there both nights as well as an amazing breakfast each day ( love those scones and croissants, send me some more please !)
Over all my wife and I loved everything about this place, we love to check out new places and this one is now added to our list and we look forward to another trip to OH this summer as I can't imagine how great the beach will be and by the way they are doing a great job making the hurricane sandy mess disappear. Thank you OH see you real soon!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back this summer. We offer beach cabanas for rent by the day down on our private beach and we are expanding our dining outlet at the beach called Dune Cottage. The deck was destroyed by Storm Sandy so we decided to expand it as well as the food options. We will have some scones and croissants waiting for you.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the front it looks like just a regular hotel, but once you step inside you know it isn't. From the playing of a harp to the long entrance of plush sofa's, right into the exquisite lounge and upscale dining room. A walk onto the veranda leaves you breathless with the views of the ocean and the dunes. The white rockers all around the entire porch area allows you to sit and slowly take in the smells and sounds of the ocean. You think it can't get any better until you visit the spa, and there,if you take in a session, a are taken into yet another wondrous experiences and a world of complete serenity with everything that could pamper anyone's soul. The rooms almost all with views of the ocean were way beyond even some of the best hotels. So for luxury it was well worth the price. The say you get what you pay for and in the case of this hotel, it is truly and understatement-you get more.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, but for the sunrise and sunset choose a South or East facing room. Pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We can’t take credit for the beautiful views, or the genius of the original builders who selected this amazing location to build a hotel, but we do try to make sure that each guest who visits us is able to enjoy all that our location has to offer. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Directory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I are both from New Jersey but she went to school in Rhode island and knew this hotel/restaurant well. Well, looking for a nice weekend getaway we came to Mystic, Conn. to go to the seaport. The next day we jumped over to the Ocean House for a nice champagne brunch before the long drive back to NJ.
Before we went inside, the both of us took a walk on the beach not 100 feet from the building. After a bunch of nice, romantic pictures we headed inside. At $54.00 per person, I can't believe how they make any money. Everything from the clam/oyster bar to the crepe station was the absolute best and well worth the money. The scenery itself is worth the money even if they served us McDonald's breakfast burritos. To top everything off, they had a live Jazz band playing to set the mood and add to the already perfect experience. 10/10 this place is amazing, I'm definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very pleased that you were able to join us for our famous Sunday Brunch while you were in the area. Our culinary team and our wait staff work very hard to make our Sunday Brunch the best in the area. Please come back again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Thank you OH for the beautiful room and flowers we had the pleasure of experiencing during my birthday celebration. I can say with absolute conviction that any season spent here will become a great memory. The positive reviews are so on point as to the absolute quality the OH offers it's guests. The Spa has the best service and treatments you could want within the confines of this beautiful hotel. On arriving we had lunch before checking in, food and service perfect as usual. Dinner at Season's with the wonderful Patrick made for a special evening. Janice was a delight during the mustard making and cheese classes offered by the OH for the guests. From the moment you arrive, the valet and desk staff are greeting you with friendly smiles. The little things can be the most important memory when traveling. Looking forward to 2013 at the Ocean House!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your birthday with the Ocean House. We are thrilled that your stay was so enjoyable. Our OH! Spa is the only 5-star spa in Rhode Island and does not disappoint. We do have amazing wait staff and Patrick is at the top of the class. We look forward to seeing you this year as well.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

“Sitting practically on top of the beach, this complete refurb of an old, classic resort is nothing short of impressive. It’s truly the embodiment of an old-time era – modernized with every creature comfort imaginable. Nothing feels more like North Eastern ‘glamour’ than cocktail hour on the Verandah – both evenings we partook, sipping martinis while overlooking the sprawling croquet field and spectacular ocean vistas. After a nine-year renovation with an attention to detail that dazzles, this historic Rhode Island treasure reopened in 2010. The beachy-formal feel is a welcome addition to the handful of high-quality places to weekend on the East Coast.”

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for so thoroughly sharing the feeling that Ocean House gives one. We agree that this is a very special place and we are thrilled to share it with our guests. We hope you will join us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 1 Bluff Avenue, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.