We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and Victorian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean House

Save Saved
You added The Ocean House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean House
1 Bluff Avenue, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Watch Hill
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Grand and Victorian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

“Sitting practically on top of the beach, this complete refurb of an old, classic resort is nothing short of impressive. It’s truly the embodiment of an old-time era – modernized with every creature comfort imaginable. Nothing feels more like North Eastern ‘glamour’ than cocktail hour on the Verandah – both evenings we partook, sipping martinis while overlooking the sprawling croquet field and spectacular ocean vistas. After a nine-year renovation with an attention to detail that dazzles, this historic Rhode Island treasure reopened in 2010. The beachy-formal feel is a welcome addition to the handful of high-quality places to weekend on the East Coast.”

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for so thoroughly sharing the feeling that Ocean House gives one. We agree that this is a very special place and we are thrilled to share it with our guests. We hope you will join us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    39
    27
    19
    14
See reviews for
56
221
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My 2 friends and I just spent the weekend at the Ocean House and it was amazing. We spent the better part of the day getting massages and facials. Without question the BEST spa I have ever been! Immaculate, serene and the relaxation room is stunning. Our Hydrangea suite was gorgeous! The entire hotel is gorgeous. The staff was incredibly professional, warm and friendly. Exceedingly helpful. They will do their absolute best to make sure you are happy. We have stayed in many "luxury " hotels and this is by far the best service I have ever experienced. We are already making plans to return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased that you and your friends had such a wonderful visit. Our OH! Spa is the only 5-star spa in Rhode Island and we are so glad you were able to enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Ct.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 41st Anniversary by treating ourselves to a special evening at The Ocean House. From the moment I handed the valet my car keys and he not only extended us a warm welcome but wished us a Happy Anniversary, I knew that we were in for another special Ocean House experience. Our room had an unbelievable view and we loved waking up to the sound of the breaking surf. We enjoyed some quiet time in our room before dressing and heading down to the dining room. Once again their commitment to service showed. Pat, our waiter welcomed us and also congratulated us and the special note of thanks from the President that was waiting on the table was greatly appreciated. Our dinner was absolutely amazing and our waiter (Pat) insured that the dining experience was everything it should have been and more. A remarkable selection, all cooked to perfection. Honestly, when it was over, if they had told me that there was a mistake in my bill and I owed them more, I would have paid it without hesitation. A Gran Mariner by the fire after dinner, followed by a walk out on the veranda to enjoy the sounds and smell of the ocean was a perfect way to end a perfect evening. The next morning we slept in and enjoyed our coffee as we slowing adjusted to the fact that we were about re-enter the real world again. We'll be back, again and again.

Room Tip: Room 217 is dead center to the Ocean view but there's not a bad room in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are so thrilled that we could mark such a wonderful occasion with you and your wife. Your experience is what we strive for with each and every guest. I will be sure Pat hears of your compliments for his service. We would be honored if you would share your next anniversary with us too.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'll keep this short and sweet. I asked at reservation, for no feathers. Then I indicated it on the intake form and also called before hand... The room was a full on feather bed, pillows on couch and bed etc. SO simple mistake right? Othet than the fact i might need an ambulance! Let the night go on!

We go to dinner, and are served oysters which are dry and stuck to the shells. The wait staff, rather than saying sorry come over and tells us "the oysters are not bad, but they could be fresher". I kid you not!!! Maybe this is just another simple snafu.

My wife decides to take a shower...the shower literally doesn't work. We call room service (for out $600+ room). They fix it in roughly and hour but leave the old parts in the shower stall.

We decide to make a drink in the room, our ice is not ice...warm water with black bits in it. The drinks that are complimentary have allready been opened and the draw below the mini bar has past customers receipts inside.

Seriously the list goes on, (dirty room service dishes, no headphones in the gym etc. etc) I felt like we were on candid camera! My poor wife!

We get home and they inform me by email that I'm getting 20 percent off our room. A whole whopping $120. What a joke.

An amazing building terribly ran. This isn't a joke, I stayed on Jan 1st 2013, I'm from Mystic CT and my name is Gary.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are terribly sorry for your below-standard experience and know that no words will make up for it. We are further sorry that our attempt to rectify the situation was not to your satisfaction. We strive very hard to provide each and every guest with the best experience possible and we fell short this time.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthorne, nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

You will not be disappointed. In fact, you will be eager to make another reservation (even at the $$$$ price your stay will cost, honestly you will not regret it). Fitness Center is great, check out the Fitness On Request videos, SUCH a cool amenity. Room and housekeeping impeccable. Common areas are also very tasteful and comfortable. Always enjoyed early morning complimentary coffee/capuccino/espresso in the comfortable lobby with lots of interesting artwork and coffee table books. Had three dinners and one lunch, at hotel and all were truly fantastic. Although every eating establishment was closed during my New Years weekend stay, I can't imagine eating anyplace else even if other restaurants were open. Don't hesitate, make your reservation now! Don't you deserve it?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. We work very hard to ensure that every aspect of our guest’s stay and all areas they encounter meet the highest standards. We want to be sure our guests want to come back again and again. We will be sure to share your compliments with our hard working housekeeping staff and our talented culinary staff.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

WOW! This resort was amazing and worth every penny we spent. Wish we had returned for Christmas instead of the Equinox. Staff, food, accomadations, and location were absolutely spectacular. We took the martini making class and had a great time. Thanksgiving meal was awesome!
We are going to make this our new destination spot for special occasions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a business lunch there last fall, and I have to say the place is absolutely gorgeous. Food is great, service very professional, but more than anything the building, location and view are really amazing.
If around, make sure you stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you. We are fortunate to work in such a beautiful location and are grateful to the many people who worked to bring her back to her full glory. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return for lunch or even an overnight sometime soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 1 Bluff Avenue, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.