We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean House Surpasses Previous Visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ocean House to your Saves list
The Ocean House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bluff Avenue, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watch Hill
new york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ocean House Surpasses Previous Visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We returned to the Ocean House on Columbus Day weekend. We had loved it before, but now it seems to be humming along like a perfectly oiled luxury machine! Concentrating on a few of the things that were different for us this time...the champagne greeting....a drink in the very cozy Club Room...lunch in the "enclosed porch-like" Winter Garden section of Seasons.. We always have big plans to take drives etc...but we have a hard time leaving the mini-vacation routine.
Swims in the salt water pool, steams, long long long walks on the beach, and just enjoying every nook and cranny of this spectacular property. As a vegetarian, and a gourmet, I always love to 'test' a chef when requesting the very special dinner of a tasting menu. Chef Paul surpassed any other dinner we have had, with imaginative and beautiful cuisine. The weather was perfect and the Watch Hill stores were having great sales as they were closing that weekend. Hard to diet with a basket of homemade scones every single morning! It was hard to fit everything in, afternoon tea is served daily (a complementary one and a real 'high' tea. What a great treat to find hot cider with cinnamon sticks after walking miles on the beach. If you are lucky enough to book one New England beach escape.....this is the place...in any season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ocean House. I am so pleased that your second visit surpassed your first. That is what our staff and management strive for with each of our return guests. We do have an amazing culinary staff and Chef Paul is definitely top notch. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Directory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    48
    33
    22
    18
See reviews for
67
254
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous and they keep giving you stuff; in the room treats, champagne for my bday, wonderful goodies at tea time, taffy and honey upon departure, etc Our room was lovely but I made a mistake in going online to reserve it so that we didn't have the ocean view I wanted. If we stepped onto the patio,next to the road I might add, you could see water in both directions.We were told to call next time to get that right. Restaurant is also amazing and that big porch..so nice.

Room Tip: call to reserve. You may have a better chance at getting the view you want..Sun brunch and tasting m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. As with most hotels, it is best to contact us directly to ensure you get the type of room you want. We do offer online booking for the convenience of our guests, but its impersonal nature has its drawbacks. I hope you will call us to plan another visit soon.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent 5 nights at the AMAZING Ocean House! This was the best property we've ever had the pleasure of visiting. The champagne greeting with personal room tour to the delicious meals, courteous, attentive staff, morning paper, twice daily room freshening, valet parking, relaxation room in the spa, gorgeous view, private balcony. What a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the ocean side with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your praise. Our staff and management work diligently to ensure each guest enjoys their time with us. Your feedback helps us to know we are on the right track. We hope you will join us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gibson, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I are about to board a plane after our vacation at The Ocean House. It more than exceeded our high expectations! We had researched the property and the travel agency that handles our firm's world wide travels have never let us down. But The Ocean House is in a league of it's own. It begins with registration, which was handled at a desk after being served champagne! Our room was wonderfully appointed, with a view of the bay, and a terrace that had both soft chairs and a table for four. All of our meals were first class, a different treat was included with each turn down service (not just the usual obligatory chocolate). You don't hang out a do not disturb sign, you just push a button by the door and a small red light alerts the staff. The mini bar was complimentary with soft drinks and water, plus snacks. We took a side trip to Martha's Vineyard, a lighthouse tour of Newport Harbor. The Ocean House is just a great location! Watch Hill is such a charming community. While at the Ocean House, be sure to eat at their restaurants. All are fabulous! The Ocean House is the best hotel that we have had the pleasure of staying at. This was the consensus view, not only of my wife and I, but of our very seasoned group. Make Sure to put the Ocean House on your bucket list!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Our sincere gratitude for such a thorough review. We work hard every day to ensure our standards are the highest possible and that we offer our guests an exceptional experience. We hope to see you and your wife again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just spent two nights here. Best Relais & Chateau I've ever been to. The rooms are incredibly luxurious and the service impeccable. Walk the beach to Westerly, play a round of croquet w/ Teddy, the on-staff pro, have a drink at the bar then dinner and you'll go home very fulfilled!

Room Tip: Driving up on a Friday can be very time-consuming regardless of whether you take the Merritt or 95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
You certainly made the most of you time with us at the Ocean House. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please come see us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I booked a reservation at this hotel on 4/16/12 for the upcoming wedding of my son (9/29/12). My future daughter in law had her heart set on having her before wedding pictures taken here. I booked my room at a pricey tune of $791.34 and my future daughter in law booked a suite for well over $1000.00. We were JUST informed 2 days ago that she would NOT be able to have her pictures taken there since they have booked a wedding and THAT bride will be able to have her pictures taken there. We were NEVER informed of this when we made our reservations, in person. While there are many favorable reviews for this hotel, they neglect to mention that you are easily cast aside when big money shows up. You can imagine the disappointment we feel after booking well in advance and specifically stating we would be having pre-wedding photos taken. Shame on Mr. Daniel Hostettler for ruining our plans for the sake of the almighty dollar!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
While we understand your frustration, we are perplexed by the intensity of this response. The other side of the story is that we were never aware of your desire to take photos on property the day of your wedding. Once we became aware of this desire, we went to work to find a way to make this work for both parties; our bride who had been planning her wedding with us for nearly a year and our guest (your future daughter in law) who we had just found out wanted to use the property for photos the same day our bride was getting married here. It is our policy, for just this reason, that we do not allow more than one wedding on property at a time. We work very hard to be sensitive to a bride’s desire to be the star of the show on her big day. Unfortunately, the options that we offered (pictures the day before, the morning of or the next day) were not satisfactory to you. As we stated on several occasions, we were very happy to have your future daughter in law take photos at the hotel during her stay, simply not during the same period of time as the bride staying and holding her wedding with us. Ultimately, our first priority has to be to our in-house bride and we are sorry for the disappointment this has caused you.

Regards,

Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for our anniversary and had a grand time. The view was to die for...our room spotless and lush to the enth degree and service always with a smile...life at the Ocean House is fun. :)

Room Tip: Personally I love ocean front...always a breeze :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary with us at the Ocean House. It is a lovely place to celebrate a special occasion. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 1 Bluff Avenue, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.