We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had taken the Trip Advisor reviews along with me . . .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Beach

Oakland Beach
Oakland Beach Avenue, Warwick, RI 02886
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 attractions in Warwick
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wish I had taken the Trip Advisor reviews along with me . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wow. This beach is REALLY dirty. It's hard to fully understand what that can mean until you're sitting in it. Cigarette butts GALORE, tampons, food wrappers and the sand will leave your feet and legs BLACK!!! There were signs posted that the water wasn't safe to be in (which we didn't see until on our way out . . .) and I can see why. The beach access is free; maybe that has something to do with its condition. Really sad.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    16
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, RI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“O.B.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Unless you are driving through so that your infant can fall asleep in the car or stopping at the great summer classic car show, don't bother. It's not much of a beach nor is the sea wall worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,157 reviews 1,157 reviews
282 attraction reviews
Reviews in 230 cities Reviews in 230 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
“go for sunset and Iggy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We will go to Iggys for clamcakes and doughboys .. Plus catch some nice ocean breezes.. Not the nicest place to go to a beach in RI.. Actually pretty dirty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a great place for a snack. The Famous Iggy,s is here.
We look forward to the doughboys frequently throughout the summer. We hate the crowds. Quaint little beach area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Went here years ago and havent been back since! It was totaly discusting. Trash all over the beach. And hypo-dermic needles in the sand!! There were more people in the parking lots standing around and some actually had folding chairs set up with coolers.Gross. Thats pathetic when you go to the beach and this is what you see. NASTY!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Beach also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oakland Beach to your Saves list