We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on past glory” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Tavern

Wharf Tavern
215 Water St, Route 114, Warren, RI 02885-3114
401 289 2524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Warren
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Swansea, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Living on past glory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the third ownership I've seen at this restaurant which used to be a local favorite. It's been sliding downhill for 15 years. Just thought we'd give it another try for Sunday dinner given the current owner's bad luck as of late.
Since we arrived before 2:00 on a Sunday, we had the option to partake in the Sunday brunch. The hostess suggested we check out the brunch before deciding. I did so only to find no resemblance at all to the slightly better than average brunch that was put on by the previous owner. The menu was extremely limited and contained no premium choices.
Hence, we ordered from the menu. My wife had the chicken Caesar salad entree. She had nothing bad to say about it, except that it wasn't authentic (no egg or anchovie in sight). I had the fish & chips. The two, uniformly-shaped portions of battered cod gushed liquid from inside when cut into; the batter on the outside was greasy and the cod itslf was chewy. Add all this up and this smacks of obviously having come from frozen.
The by-the-glass wine list is contains only budget wines, each $6-$7 glass nearly paying for the bottle.
After 20+ years of patronizing the businesses in this building, I'm sad to report that I've paid my last trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    23
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, RI
1 review
“Lunch was fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stopped by for lunch with out of town relatives, 5 of us. All had sandwiches, huge servings, had the Monte Cristos, Prime Rib and a huge Cheeseburger. Delicious to say the least, nice variety
of fries, great service,,Doreen was on the spot, great personality, atitude, got right in the groove
with my family....we had some great laughs besides the food! Can't say enough about the meals.
Recommend it highly, the prices were outstanding for the volume and quality of the sandwiches.
We'll be back.....Omer Plourde (Portsmouth) & siblings!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yuck, don't go for brunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went for brunch today. It was terrible. There is very little choice. The desserts looked like they came straight from the supermarket. The scrambled eggs were watery. The omelet was cooked with about a cup of olive oil. The cold salmon was not cooked through. We had to ask for bread and the choices were white or an english muffin, which they were not thrilled to bring from the back. When I asked if there was some jam to go with it, they brought out small packets of Smuckers concord grape. So if you are looking for something interesting or tasty, this is not the place for you. And it cost $20 per person plus tip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stopped in on Sunday afternoon about 1 with a party of 5 and was delighted that a large party had just left and we were seated immediately. Brunch was a wonderful assortment of usual ( omelette and waffle station) and a little extra special ( fresh cold salmon with the salads). The hot entrees ( seafood casserole, stuffed chicken breasts and shepherds pie were hot and tasty. The dessert selection was outstanding and choices were numerous but bite size so you could enjoy a couple without waste. The only item was not up to recommendation was scrambled eggs. Just needed to be removed - dry and overcooked. We had outstanding service and would recommend to others. Just skip scrambled eggs and ask for a customized omelette!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I wanted to treat my friend to a great birthday lunch. SUCCESS! Sandy ( I think ( was in the tavern/ bar area) and couldn't have been more helpful I had an amazing salad heaped high with lobster salad, we had clams casino. One in our party had salmon ( which is ALWAYS chancy in my opinion) another had scallops. EVERY part of everyone's meal was top notch. Including dessert and cocktails. We cant wait to go back here again.. SOON!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.