We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden Manor, Wakefield, R.I. = Peaceful, Charming & Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast

Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
154 Post Road, Wakefield, South Kingstown, RI 02879   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Wakefield B&B and Inns
ham.Sq. N.J.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eden Manor, Wakefield, R.I. = Peaceful, Charming & Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

Just spent 7 nights at this B&B with my wife & family. This large mansion sits off the road a couple of hundred yards & affords quite & privacy. The grounds cover several acres & sport some of the largest trees in N.E..Less than 1 mi. from Rte 1 found it convenient to R.I. beaches & pts. of interest (Pt.Judith, Newport. Wickford, U.R.I.) Wakefield has charm & provides close shopping.Brk.s were more than adequate & the facilities clean & well maintained. The numerous rooms & areas of this B&B provide adequate space for gathering or solitude. the hosts were most cordial & accommodating. Looking forward to a definite return visit for "leaf peeping". zn-Cuz/NJ

  • Liked — Charm
  • Disliked — No locks
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

My wife and I and two teenage daughters recently spent three delightful days at Eden Manor. The house is spacious, charming, and carefully maintained by the Eden family. It was a great jumping off point for local beaches, nearby quaint villages, and the "cottages" at Newport are less than 30 minutes away.
Our rooms were very comfortable and quiet (even though the place was full). High-speed internet access was an unexpected bonus. Breakfast was well-presented and satisfying, particularly when taken on the side porch overlooking the lush green lawns.
Our host directed us to several attractive and well-priced restaurants, as well as a very nice local golf course and a surprisingly uncrowded local beach.
Eden Manor exceeded our expectations. We are very much looking forward at spending more time there on our next trip to the Rhode Island shore.

  • Liked — Charming Victorian atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

Based on the previous excellent reviews we decided to spend 2 nights recently at Eden Manor. The first thing we saw as we pulled into the driveway was a For Sale sign; it was a portent of things to come. We were greeted and shown around by a child, who tried his youthful best but was unable to find our reservation, turn lights on, or give us directions to local restaurants. The whole place showed signs of being run on a tight budget - mismatched thin towels, no blankets or extra pillows, ice machine empty and not working, dim light bulbs everywhere. There was a pervasive musty smell common in old houses that are not well maintained. At night all outside doors are left unlocked, many of them wide open, which made us very uncomfortable since our bedroom doors didn't lock either. Breakfast is self-serve, buffet style. The first morning we had all the usual cold items plus one hot dish; the second morning there was a new hot dish plus leftovers from the day before. The coffee pot's warming feature apparently doesn't work.
We did finally meet both hosts, who are very pleasant but obviously overworked and overwhelmed.
The location of the Manor is very convenient to the beaches and URI, its setting is beautiful, and hopefully it will be bought by someone who will have the funds to bring it up to par and run it the way it should be run. In the meantime spend your $150 - 200 elsewhere.

  • Liked — location close to beaches
  • Disliked — run down, lack of service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenmanor, owner at Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2006
This review just goes to show there's one in every crowd (and they are almost impossible to please). While it is true that our B & B is for sale, we strive to provide the best experience possible for our guests in every way. The house is immaculate and well maintained as the other unsolicited reviews found here testify to.
If they were dissatisfied with somethig they should have told us and we would have done our best to make it right (certainly exta blankets and pillows is an easy fix). We were shocked and dimayed to see this review as no complaints were received during this time. Instead these guests thought it better to be silent and save their discontent for a forum such as this.
Go figure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

Just returned from the long weekend in Eden Manor. Convenient location, very good and friendly owners. Breakfast was very good - we even didn't expected such a good quality. Excellent for kids - big property where they can safely play. Very close to bike route. 10 minutes driving from the excellent beaches.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

My partner and I have been staying at Eden Manor since 2003. Lloyd and Bernadette Eden are the most welcoming and gracious hosts anyone could ask for. I have read some negative comments on various reviews of Eden Manor and I just have to laugh.

On our recent stay at Eden Manor, there were guests who smoked cigarettes in their rooms. First off, the Eden's clearly state in all their policies that Eden Manor is a non-smoking B & B. Signs are posted everywhere and smoking is not permitted in either the rooms or anywhere inside the B & B.

If people can't abide by a business establishments policies, then they should stay home. Eden Manor is a divine place to stay and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2005

We started out a little unsure, since we were staying for a week and booked the Eden Manor off the web, sight unseen. Once there all reservations left. The Edens are wonderful hosts. You become one of their family. The room/suite we had was spacious and well appointed. The best secret is the breakfast. They advertise a continental breakfast - but we always had one, two or even three hot dishes in addition to the fruit, cereal, and muffins/pastries. Each morning was a surprise. This is a must stay destination.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2005

This family run B&B makes you feel like part of the family. The kids had a great time playing on the ponderous property with the Eden kids and dog. The room were comfortable and had plenty of it, which allowed the kids to have practically a private bedroom. The breakfast had healthy choices and everything that you would need to be satisfied. It's a great house and the Edens are doing well maintaining it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 154 Post Road, Wakefield, South Kingstown, RI 02879
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.