We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Loaf Hill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Loaf Hill B&B
Save
You added Sugar Loaf Hill B&B to your Saves list
607 Main Street, Wakefield, South Kingstown, RI 02879   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently had a great weekend stay at this charming bed and breakfast in Wakefield, Rhode Island. The owners, Stephanie and Dave, were very friendly and loved interacting with their guests. They served a delicious breakfast, and made us feel very welcome. We'd stay there again and highly recommend the Sugar Loaf Inn.

Room Tip: All the guest rooms looked nice, especially the suite at the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My daughter & I stayed in this cozy bed and breakfast last weekend. Stephanie & Dave were wonderful hosts. There if you needed them, but not hovering. The breakfast every day was amazing. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My Mom and Aunt just stayed here the last 2 days and it was amazing! The house is adorable....in fact I wanted to stay with with them instead of my own house. Stephanie is an amazing inn keeper. So gracious. My Mom and Aunt wanted to meet me for breakfast before they hit the road and told her they didn't need breakfast, she made them delicious hot homemade scones anyway for the road. I can not recommend this place enough!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Situated off Main St, just outside of town, this is a very nice place to spend a long weekend. We found it to be clean and comfortable, quiet enough, nicely situated and thought that the proprietors were very friendly and forthcoming. I'm nitpicking a bit but it would have been nice to have a private bathroom (we had two rooms, so that wasn't much of an issue), and although we didn't spend much time inside the room it would have been nice to have a TV. All in all a pleasant experience and we wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Sugar Loaf Hill Inn is right on the outside of the town of Wakefield, on the main street but in a secluded spot. The house is very welcoming and cozy, the rooms charming, and Stephanie and her husband so helpful with everything - our was a last minute trip but they were prepared for our arrival despite the short notice and very accommodating. Stephanie's suggestions about the area were great, we just wish we had more time to visit all the places she recommended. And her breakfast was abundant and absolutely delicious! We'll definitely come back when we are in the area, thank you very much for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stephanie and Dave are wonderful hosts. The B&B is extremely comfortable and the breakfasts are terrific. They're very friendly and make you feel entirely at home. B&B is close to beaches and restaurants and is a perfect base for sightseeingg around RI &CT. Love it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This bed and breakfast is located in a very old historic home, and the owners are very nice, congenial people. The breakfasts were very good, and as another reviewer pointed out, the hosts give you as little or as much privacy as you require.

However, if you have any types of allergies to mold, you will not want to stay here. The mold and allergens in the air and in the air conditioning units are very high. I had much difficulty breathing at night and had to take maximum amounts of allergy medication.

If you don't have allergies, however, you will find this a charming, historic B&B.

Also of unusual note, the owners don't take credit cards and require you to pay for one night's stay prior to your arrival.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Loaf Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Hill B&B

Address: 607 Main Street, Wakefield, South Kingstown, RI 02879
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown > Wakefield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Loaf Hill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.