We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Ice Cream Worth a Line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gray's Ice Cream

Gray's Ice Cream
16 East Rd, Tiverton, RI 02878-3599
401-624-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 35 Restaurants in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream Worth a Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Yes there can be a line at Grays but it moves quickly. Favorite flavors include Black Raspberry, Peach, Oreo and Butter Crunch. The ice cream is extremely creamy and can melt quickly on a hot day so be sure to lick quick if you get a cone. They are generous with their scoops so a small is more than enough.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ice cream spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Expect long lines in the summer but well worth it. Mocha Chip used to be my favorite flavor but now they have Black Raspberry Chip - need to taste more to decide which is best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I know that sounds a little over the top but Gray's makes their own Ice Cream and they do it better than anyone. I avoid eating dessert but I never, ever pass up a cone or shake (or frappe as it is known in New England) when I am at Gray's. Gray's is so good, that I actually planned an entire vacation day so that I could make multiple stops here. My family loves it, my friends love, and apparently all of Tiverton and Little Compton love it because this place is always packed. Do yourself a favor and stop in. You will see that I am not exaggerating in the least!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be sure to lick your fingers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Gray's is our GO TO ice cream stop on the way home from Little Compton beach. No negative remarks here....all good! Preparation is creamy delicious, and flavor menu is both classic and trendy. Motor past the vanilla or chocolate for yummy unique options. Pistachio, and peppermint (with crunchy bits of candy) are favorites, along with the winning mocha chip, and coffee ice cream. Enjoy your cone or cup sitting on the shaded benches, near the neighboring farm's cute calfs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

There is such a hype about this place... I just don't get it... It's okay. The cute little general store that it is attached to is worth a peruse!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Gray's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.