We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting for a summer dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jim's Dock Restaurant

Jim's Dock Restaurant
1175 Succotash Road, South Kingstown, RI
401-783-2050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 104 Restaurants in South Kingstown
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Seasonal restaurant on the water.
Restaurant details
Description: Seasonal restaurant on the water.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting for a summer dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Jim's Dock outdoor patio makes you feel you are in the marina. You are surrounded by boats and water. The Block Island ferry passes by periodically adding to the charm. Expect fresh seafood such as swordfish, steamed mussels and little necks on the half shell, a real Rhode Island treat. This is not a fancy place which adds to the charm. It starts with signing in and waiting at least 30 minutes. But time flies because you bring your own wine and can sit on adirondack chairs waiting for your table. Food comes on paper plates with a roll of paper towels for napkins and a lantern placed on your table for atmosphere. Prices are a bit high but without a liquor bill you are really saving a lot. Service is friendly and efficient. And, you can double park your car and they will announce your license plate if you need to move it! Fun.
The restaurant is in Matunuck and easy to reach for Route 1.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reward at the end of 11 hour drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We left Ohio at dawn and by mid morning we were looking for the ideal Rhode Island meal at the end of the 11 hour drive. We found Jim's Dock Restaurant on Trip Advisor. It appeared to be just what we were lookiing for--an outside dining establishment, on the water and part of the life of the community and our course great food. We started running late due to traffic and called ahead to be sure that we did not miss the last seating. We were told that the kitchen would be open later than 9 due to the crowd--always a great sign. We were offered more than expected options such as placing our order by phone if that became necessary. Fortunately it was not. We got there in time to have a magnificent dinner--scallops fresh from the neighboring waters and lobster that was to die for. The price was marvelous. We had our own wine and they made sure we had glasses while we waited for our table. This waterfront dining met all the expectations, was correctly and completely described by Trip Advisor reviewers. This is the the real Rhode island experience. EAT HERE!!!! You will not be disappointed'

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great casual dining on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We enjoyed a casual dinner here on the water. I loved that you can sit outside and watch the boats. The food was good as was the service. We were lucky and got seated right away. They don't have a liquor license, but you can byob... which we didn't know at the time.

I'll be back next time with a bottle of wine :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice casual outdoor spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a casual lunch on the deck while vacationing in Rhode Island! The atmosphere is very quiet and you can BYOB. We tried clam cakes for the first time as well as other seafood fare. The service was very helpful and friendly. A relaxing spot for families!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield-South Kingstown
2 reviews
“Watch the world go by at Jim's Dock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great food,BYOB<setting like no other on the water.Relax and even put your feet in the water while waitng for a table. Jim's has been serving food for many,many years ,we never had a bad meal. Sue the waitress is the best!! Don't even ask here how many years she has been at Jim's....If you have children,for many generations the crabs,fish and snails around and on the pilings have amazed the kids, they have so much fun ,they have to be dragged to the tables to eat , they can't wait to return to knee deep water wadeing under the docks. We have Sugar Loaf HIll B&B in Wakefield,R.I. and we always send our guests to Jim's , when they return to the B&B ,their reply is to thank us for such a special quaint place on the water with great food...Open seasonal....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Dock Restaurant also viewed

South Kingstown, South County
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
Rhode Island, United States
 

Been to Jim's Dock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim's Dock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.