We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matunuck Oyster Bar

Matunuck Oyster Bar
629 Succotash Rd, South Kingstown, RI 02879-5839
401 783-4202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This IS the place to be. Summer at its best. Outdoor bar and seating.Be prepared to wait a while. Social fun while mingle'g with friends. Generous staff and owner Perry will personably greet you at your table, known for his hands on service and commitment to customer satisfaction. Food consistent and FABULOUS EVERY TIME. Worth the wait ! Winter is less dinners and wonderful ambiance. Get to know the staff and enjoy dinner with less of a wait.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    81
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a great restaurant for very fresh oysters and other seafoods and at reasonable prices too. At this restaurant I had my first taste of oysters and they were very sweet and had no grit. Mussels were very huge. We have been to other restaurants with great seafood and they have never had mussels this big! The place is a little hard to find but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatogue, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Every time I'm in RI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

OK, I love seafood, so this is the place for me! They have really expanded over the past few years. The food is excellent, the oysters are amazing and the drinks are great. The lobster roll doesn't have too much mayo, and is on a toasted roll. Seriously, some of the best seafood in RI.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Oysters! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is top notch in taste and location. The staff is very attentive and always strive to ensure your visit is flawless. The fried oysters melt in your mouth! The best I ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

If you love seafood, this is the place to go! On a pleasant 50 degree Saturday afternoon, the place was packed, and now I know why! We started with raw and grilled oysters, all from the local area......fresh and delicious! Next, we devoured an order of steamed clams. The clams were small tender, and sweet! For the main course, I had the swordfish special, which was mild ancho chili rubbed, with saffron rice, black beans, grilled onions, broccoli I, and avocado cream. Fabulous! My husband had the pan seared fluke with jasmine rice and bok choy. He really enjoyed it. Bread is available on request. It was served warm with flavored olive oil. We loved the experience and if we are ever in this area again, would definitely come back!!! Just keep in mind that the restaurant does not take reservations unless you have 6 or more.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matunuck Oyster Bar also viewed

Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
Rhode Island, United States
 

Been to Matunuck Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matunuck Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.