We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Dewey Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Kingstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Admiral Dewey Inn
Save
You added Admiral Dewey Inn to your Saves list
668 Matunuck Beach Road, South Kingstown, RI 02870   |  
Hotel amenities
Milford MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were looking for a place near the beach to celebrate my wife's birthday and the Admiral Dewey was the perfect fit. Levon and his staff are very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are clean and have all the necessary amenities. The bathrooms are updated and very clean as well. The beach is a short 5 minute walk and there is also beach bar and restaurant within walking distance.
Best of luck to Levon with his new endeavor - we am looking forward to seeing him again at the Admiral Dewey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

my wife and I were there for a weekend event nearby. We knew that the inn had been sold. What we didn't know, is to whom. We were so pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome from Levon, the new owner. He was happy to assist in any way, and just an all around nice person.
Our room was on the top floor, with a queen bed and private bath. The open window and fan kept the room nice and comfortable. The inn is surprisingly quiet for a B&B, which was also a nice surprise, considering how close to the stairs, we were.
The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. In addition to all his other talents, Levon is a great cook.
He has great plans for this wonderful historic dwelling, and my wife and I look forward to many more stays there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

First off, it should be noted that this Inn is now operating under new management, and in this case that is very much a good thing. Our host was energetic, friendly, knowledgeable, and welcoming. For someone who has only been operating the Inn for a handful of weeks, his practice is already remarkably well honed - the place is clean and well organized, and the breakfasts were delicious. The building itself is charming and comfortable, and the location is fantastic - perfect for a daytrip to nearby Block Island, or just to stay for a few days and relax in a small quiet town. All for a very reasonable price. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Admiral Duey Inn and had a great experience. The people were so friendly and full of life and laughter. Plenty of parking for our large pick up truck and restaurants are in walking distance. Breakfast was the freshest fruit and food I have had in a long time. It was a heart warming experience for both Rob and Myself ( Don). We hope to return there again soon.

Room Tip: Call in advance to get the room you need. Room 4 has the corner and plenty of breeze to keep you coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend with my husband. We were attending a wedding in Newport and the inn was only 25 minutes from Newport and much more affordable. Our room was comfortable and quaint. The inn was built over 100 years ago and is full of interesting antiques. The Dewey was recently bought by a new owner and he was a warm and welcoming host. The breakfast was delicious and there were cookies in the afternoon. The deli next door makes delicious sandwiches, great for carrying to the beach. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our first stay at the wonderful Admiral Dewey for a long weekend in July. The rooms are immaculate, well maintained and full of lovely antique furnishings. The new owner was a most gracious and helpful host who had just acquired the property only a few days prior to our visit. We took advantage of his restaurant recommendations for lunch. The convenient setting is only a couple blocks to walk to the South Kingstown Town Beach. The inn has beach chairs, umbrellas and towels available which saves in packing. We enjoyed a relaxed continental breakfast on our schedule and enjoyed the beach breeze in the rocking chairs on the porch. A true gem and we will definitely return on our next Rhode Island visit!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Kinda frustrating when the inn's website says a day's available and you want to set your plans, but can't get the inn to pick up or return your calls. I can look elsewhere, but this was my desired location, and I'm not sure if they'll return my call after I book elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Dewey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Dewey Inn

Address: 668 Matunuck Beach Road, South Kingstown, RI 02870
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in South Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Dewey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.