We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dirty, messy dump - do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford

Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Newport Avenue, Rumford, RI 02916   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dirty, messy dump - do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights to attend our son's university graduation in Providence. The online photo and description are misleading. We had stained and torn sheets, no blankets. The towels were so thin and stained and dingy that we went out and bought our own real towels. Also bought clothes hangers- they had provided a total of 5 when I requested more . Chairs very stained, carpet not well vacuumed. For 2 days we were not supplied with an extra TP roll. Personal items were missing after the room cleaned one day. Internet did not work despite big reader sign at the street claiming WIFI. Refrigerator knob broken off- our milk etc froze. Managers not fluent in English. Big dogs staying here. Halls and exterior very shabby, peeling paint outside. Stay away from this place. We didnt bother to ck. their "breakfast" of donuts and juice. You won't be happy staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate P, Manager at Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear ilikegreen,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share a review about our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have recently renovated our hotel with new carpets, mattresses, and painting. We hope these corrective measures will improve the overall guest experience.


Sincerely,
Nate-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Rumford, RI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    21
See reviews for
2
8
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I am currently on tour, and have seen some pretty bad hotels, but never this bad. The hallways stank like body odor, the showers had mold, there were marks all over the walls, a clump of hair between the bedsheets, and, to top it all off, A DOUBLE SIDED FEMALE PENETRATION DEVICE from the last guest. I would attach the photos but they're hardly family friendly. The residents next door (this hotel has terrifying permanent residents) were shouting until about 3 AM and the shouting continued again at 8 AM. There was a man who lived at the end of the hall with his dog whose room stank up all adjacent rooms as well as the main hallway. I was walking along the hotel outside and saw a man passed out on his bed with a tourniquet around his arm and beer cans littering the entire room. Not a great area to find good food nearby, either.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate P, Manager at Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear necromancer07707,

Thank you for sharing a review about our hotel. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than a perfect stay. All claims against this property will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. We have recently renovated our hotel with new carpeting, painting, and mattresses. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.


Sincerely,
Nate-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Rumford, RI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bognor regis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

This motel was booked for us by a family member at our request after we had looked it up on the internet. They would not accept aUK credit card so we asked family member to book for us. This family member went to the motel and asked to be shown the room and was shown a clean, tidy room. She made and paid for the booking for us.
Our flight was delayed and we arrived at 0400 and were so tired we fell into bed but we still aware of the noise.
We had to be somewhere at 0600 so again we rushed out and were our most of the day. We came back at about 2000 to have an early night and rest. We discovered that the bathroom was very dirty - so dirty that when I dropped my toothpaste on the floor I woudl not pick it up. The chairs had un identifiable stains on them and were dirty. The bedding was not clean but by this time we were so tired that we decided to stay for the night.
The noise started at about 2200. It appears that this motel rents rooms by the hour and the occupant across the hall had many 'visitors' during the night. The room next to us was also occupied in the same manner with loud noises, grunts and groans coming at regular intervals. In addtion there were two very large dogs running up and down the corrdior all night long barking. At about 4 a.m I had enough and shouted Shut up!!! -there was no discernible decrease in noise.
The sheets on the bed we crumpled so my husband and I decided to straighten them and when we did discovered that the mattress cover underneath had every conceivable type of hair pubic and other wise on it! We had also been bitten by. we assume. bed bugs.
We decided immediately to leave and packed and went to a relatives house until later in the morning. We rang the motel and demanded a refund and when we arrived to collect it the manager appeared scratching his backside and dressed in a tee shirt that had every meal he had eaten for a month on it.
We recevied our refund and hastily left.
I can only say that the photos of this motel bear no resemblance to how it is.
It is filthy, crawling with bugs and I would say that this place is a cover for an illicit trade.
I would hope that no one with a family would stay here as I would be concerned about security in the room and personal safety.
The reason we chose this motel after searching the net wsa that it was close to the family we wanted to visit and because a family member was ill we needed to be as close as possible.
I have travelled to this area for 27 years and lived there for 33 years but never have I had such an horrendous experience. I felt soiled leaving that hotel.
Vicki - Bognor Regis, England

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate P, Manager at Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear happychaput,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about our hotel. I apologize for any negative experience you encountered during your stay. There are various dog shows held throughout the year at the Expo Center. Our hotel does allow pets. The pet owners are informed of our rules. Unfortunately, there are a few pet owners who do not follow these rules. We try our best to not disturb our other guests. We have recently renovated each of our rooms with new carpets, painting, and mattresses. Once again, I apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Regards,
Nate-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Rumford, RI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Our room was clean and tidy and the facilities were perfectly adequate. The guy at the desk was helpful and pleasant. We stayed for two days and were very comfortable. We would have no problem returning should we be in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford

Address: 400 Newport Avenue, Rumford, RI 02916
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Rumford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn welcomes you to Rumford, Rhode Island, a subdivision of the city of East Providence that touches Naragansett Bay. Rhode Island is a state of many firsts. It was the first to take action against British rule, the first to have a synagogue, and the first to have a successful water-powered cotton mill. We are about 4 miles from Brown University, the Rhode Island Holocaust Memorial Museum, and the Roger Williams National Memorial. Also nearby is the Wannamoisett Country Club, East Providence Lanes, and the Providence Performing Arts Center. Local restaurants include La Rosa Restaurant, Star Diner, and Uncle Tony's Pizza and Pasta.Appreciate the convenience of our vending and ice machines. Our front desk and lobby are open 24 hours/day. Our pet friendly hotel features 40 guest rooms with amenities including microwaves, mini-fridges, cable TVs with HBO, and desks in case you need to catch up on some work. At Americas Best Value Inn Providence/Rumford, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Providence / Rumford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.