We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too loud; too small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue N

Avenue N
20 Newman Ave, Rumford, RI 02916-1960
401-270-2836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Rumford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too loud; too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The restaurant is located in an old mill/factory building, so there is great potential, but not in the current design - the space for dining is too small. With a bar within inches of nearly all the tables, the place was crowded and noisy. We could barely have a conversation without yelling. The entire space felt cramped. The service was poor, given the few tables, but accepted that as it could have been our server.

Positives. The food was good to excellent and if we just wanted to sit at a bar, ok, we can put up with noise, but not while eating; and you just can't get away from the bar - cramped space.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Think back to when you were a kid at the State Fair, and you had those french fries. You know, the really hot, just crispy and salty enough, real potato, best fries you ever ate. Those are the fries that come with the burger at Avenue N. This cozy little spot serves great food and also has an excellent bar. Friendly and helpful waitstaff, gracious owners, attractive decor (exposed brick meets expensive wood.) Not stuffy but nice enough for a "fancy" night out if you want to dress up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant on a cold rainy fall day. All we wanted was a nice warm drink and something to eat. Once we walked in the chills went away. Avenue N has a warm and inviting atmosphere and a very interesting and delicious spin on food favorites. We shared the corn dog and mac and cheese dish and it was incredible. They also have a great selection of drinks. Must try!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Among the best restaurants in RI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have never been disappointed with this upscale American restaurant located in Rumford Center next to Seven Stars. It is sophisticated yet cozy. When you walk in, it feels like you're in a restaurant in Boston or Manhattan rather than Rumford. The chef is very creative with his seasonal menu and uses local produce/seafood. Since it is a small restaurant, I would recommend making reservations especially on the weekend. The salads, pizza, burgers and seafood are all excellent. The portions aren't huge, so order an appetizer, entree and dessert if you're hungry.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had dinner with a RI friend, at her suggestion, at Avenue N in Rumford this week. I was so pleased. I very much liked the cozy, upscale-casual atmosphere. My No. 3 Cosmopolitan with St. Germain--of all things--was delicious. Best drink I've had in a long while. My salmon was perfect and my spouse's burger was excellent. The creme brulee was very eggy, which may sound weird but is meant as great praise. Our server, named Dana if I recall, was charming and never missed a beat. I'm so glad to have found this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue N also viewed

 

Been to Avenue N? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue N, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.