We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular and Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Farms Bed and Breakfast

Shamrock Farms Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Farms Bed and Breakfast
465 Union Street, Portsmouth, RI 02871   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed and We loved it. Overlooking the water across tr country road added to the beauty of an already beatuiful landscape. We stayed in the Kesson room, comfortable and breezy for a summer stay. Very quiet grounds and an amazing breakfast the next morning. The garden and yard were better than pictured. This will be a memorable visit for years to come.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We've just spent 3 weeks travelling around New England and this was our last but definitely best B&B.
The conversion of a barn into this beautiful place is wonderful it is worth spending a night here if only to admire the hall and staircase. The rooms are all large with comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms with jacuzzi baths. The B&B is in a quiet lane surrounded by fields so you do need a car. It is about 10 minutes drive to Newport. The owner is friendly and very helpful and happy to provide breakfast when you want up until 10am. Be warned the breakfast is delicious but large!Lots of variety including fresh fruit and home made muffins.We would love to stay here again. Barbara Tomsett Winchester England

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a good size with similar facilities our favourite, (we peeped in all of them as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've stayed here a few times over the years and have never been disappointed. My husband and I stayed here most recently and had a good time yet again. The pros: great breakfast (lots of great tasting food), awesome hospitality, good quiet location, lovely grounds, private, spacious rooms, comfortable big beds, well decorated, rustic feeling with charm.
The cons: a little dusty/cob-webby in some corners, the A/C is very loud (which is also good for drowning out any other noises), early morning risers on the 3rd floor could be heard in our 2nd floor room.
This is my #1 favorite spot to stay in Newport and I will return again!

Room Tip: The Edinburgh Room has a nice view of the backyard and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the Inn. William's breakfast's are the BEST!! Our room was spacious and comfortable. Tracy was very accommodating. Perfect spot to get in to Newport without any traffic issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had a wonderful review written but lost it when I tried to add pictures. I don't feel like trying to rewrite the whole thing so I'll just this was a great place and leave it at that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We just stayed at one of the best B & B's we've experienced in years of traveling. The beautiful restoration of a country barn, dedicated to William's Irish heritage is beyond expectations. The rooms are well appointed and oversized, including bathrooms, compared to the standard B & B's. Breakfast is a hearty feast of many courses of fresh local food, with special emphasis on fresh muffins of all varieties. The best part is that special diets are accommodated. Kirby took great care in getting us anything we desired.
The surrounding grounds are well manicured, as the adjoining flower farm business provides beautiful landscaping. Views of the countryside are wonderful from all of the rooms. Newport is an easy fast drive to all of the mansions and attractions. There are great recommended restaurants nearby and in Newport. We look forward to returning on our next trip to Rhode Island.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms are cozy with sloped ceilings with skylights, but not uncomfortable. All bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Shamrock Inn this past September. We were attending an event at the nearby Portsmouth Abbey School. It is about 5 minutes from Portsmouth abbey School and about 15 minutes to Roger Williams College and less than five minutes to the nearby equestrian center and polo grounds. It is on a lightly traveled street that connects both Routes 138 and 114. The inn is an old barn with exposed posts and beams converted into 6 large suites. The inn is full of antiques and antique reproductions. There are several common rooms and a patio in the rear where guests can relax. The suites have ample space and easy chairs for reading or relaxing. We stayed in the Edinburgh suite, which had a beautiful large bathroom with both a jacuzzi and an oversized shower. Breakfast is officially served beginning at 8:30. However, since we had to be off to events starting at 8:30, William, the proprieter, started our breakfast earlier. The breakfast both days was fantastic with fresh fruit, freshly baked muffins and a breakfast special that changes each day. All was expertly prepared. William cooked in the kitchen while his daughter Kirby served us at our table. I am gluten intolerant and William made a special trip to a local gluten gree bakery for bread and muffins. We were delighted with every aspect of the SI and look forward to a return visit later this month.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shamrock Farms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Farms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 465 Union Street, Portsmouth, RI 02871
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world elegance and charm describe this Irish Country Inn. Water, garden and bridge views, full breakfast served. Located a few minutes from Newport, rooms feature king sized beds and all baths have jacuzzi tubs. Irish hospitality abounds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Farms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shamrock Farms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list