We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fifteen Point Road Restaurant

Fifteen Point Road Restaurant
15 Pt Rd, Portsmouth, RI 02871-4914
401- 683-3138
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fifteen Point Road Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: 15 Point Road, A special treat in Portsmouth Rhode Island along the Sakonnet River. Busy, but not crowded, with an enchanting moonlit river view. A traditional menu pleases most everyone and house specialties are an ever-changing eclectic delight of innovative and contemporary dishes. When one walks up to the doorway, the bed of fresh growing herbs just off the deck will give you hints of the treats that await. Once inside you will be entranced by the view of the Sakonnet River which leads out to the ocean beyond through the panorama of windows. Across the river you will occasionally notice the local fishing boats as they make their way to the Tiverton fish market. If you"re lucky enough, you might even catch one of the local lobstermen heading out to tend his lobster traps in Mount Hope Bay!
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This small restaurant is on the water in Portsmouth, near Tiverton's Stone Bridge. It is a small, unpretentious place, but the atmosphere is sophisticated and relaxing.
In addition to their regular menu (I wish they didn't offer "Chilean Sea Bass," the most unsustainable fish in the sea, but I digress) there's an excellent prix fixe menu that includes soup or salad, a glass of wine from a reasonable selection, a main course with veggies and a dessert - all for $19!
My husband chose the duck and I was feeling particularly carnivorous, so I had the rib eye steak.
We both chose the cabernet, which was decent and not served in one of those thimble-sized wine glasses.
The bread rolls at the start of the meal were warm and crusty.
Service was polished and friendly.
All in all, a great meal - and a good deal. If we lived closer, we'd be regulars, but regardless, we'll definitely make the effort to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raynham MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've eaten at 15 Point Rd on three or four occasions and have enjoyed the food and delightful view. Among the entrees have been te Scampi (large, succulent shrimp over pasta) lobster sandwich on focaccia , delicious grilled pizza, and several appetizers. Just about everything was very good with the exception of the lobster roll which I believe was made with frozen lobster rather than fresh. I think it's a nice little spot for a lazy lunch or leisurely dinner. There is deck seating, weather permitting and lunch is served until 4 pm.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have had dinner with friends the last two Friday nights. The food was outstanding, the atmosphere was very comfortable and considering it was very busy, it was not overly loud or destracting. The service (Ethan) was amazing. Sean (the owner) stopped by our table both weeks to make sure everything was ok. It was very obvious that a lot of effort goes into preparing the meals for each order with tremendously fresh a perfectly cooked food! The prices were certainly a value to the quality of the meals. I will definately go back again and again!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Come for the view and service, but don't have hi hopes for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

A panoramic view from both the patio and inside picturewinsows beckon, and a crisp attentive staff serves, but the seafood was disappointing. A pot pie had rubbery crust and seafood and the "Cajun tuna" was nicely spiced, and topped imaginatively with chevre, but was cooked medium well whether than medium rare, as requested.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just had dinner at Fifteen Point for the second time in two weeks. We sat outside on the deck overlooking the marina the first time and the bugs were kept at bay throughout most of our meal. The food was very good, I had the tuna, it was cooked more medium than I like, but was delicious. Our second dining experience was just as good. We had a delicious bottle of wine that was substantially underpriced. All entrees were praised by our party of four. Our server was wonderful. This restaurant is a bargain for the area. Eat here instead of overpriced Newport.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifteen Point Road Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, RI
 

Been to Fifteen Point Road Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifteen Point Road Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.