We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful,cozy,clean,comfortable,artistic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escobar's Farmhouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escobar's Farmhouse Inn
Save
You added Escobar's Farmhouse Inn to your Saves list
2072 East Main Road, Portsmouth, RI 02871   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Duxbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Delightful,cozy,clean,comfortable,artistic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Farmhouse has been remodeled and decorated with a collector's touch. Unusual and fanticiful paintings and antiques are loving placed with an artist's eye.

There is a working dairy farm across from the cornfield . Visitor friendly chickens,goats and a pet pot bellied pig will greet you near farmyard entrance. Dawn views of rolling hills and distant water are awesome.

Breakfast was delicious and elaborate. Eggs cooked to order. Abundant fresh fruit and berries.
Comfortable bed, quiet and open access to living space, lounge and huge DVD collection.
You will feel lucky to get a room here. Unique experience .

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great, big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent the weekend here Nov 2nd -4th. Stuart is the best innkeeper I have ever known.
He is so thoughtful and personable. He cooks breakfasts that are truly made from scratch using the local resources. ( Escobar Farm is a Cabot Creamery Cooperative farm.).
The house is nicely decorated with many antiques. Guests can enjoy the common area and we mingle easily. You will feel at home. We loved it and will return.
The inn is located about 20 minutes from Newport and well located for visiting most of the wineries on the Coastal Wine Trail.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Room. It is on the 1st floor in the back of the house. Very comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife & I recently had the pleasure of spending three nights at Escobars farmhouse inn. I can’t believe there are only 8 reviews for this superb B&B but they all give Escobars 5 stars.

There are four rooms, two on the ground floor and two on the first floor with the Katherine suite being the largest . . . . very large! We booked the Katherine suite which is simply superb and quite the largest room we have ever had in a bed & breakfast. The suite has a huge double bed, a double bed and a settee/single bed. A four seater settee, an armchair, huge bean bag, a circular table & four chairs, TV, music system & a DVD player, kitchen with a large fridge, oven etc, and a microwave. The bathroom is also large, beautiful with a bath & shower. The whole place is tastefully furnished & decorated. When we arrived Stuart had soft music playing in our room for our arrival, and each evening when we came in from dinner Stuart had soft lighting & music playing for us.

Which brings me to the breakfast which was gourmet each morning! They are to die for, Portuguese eggs Benedict, fresh fruit, granola and different flavour yoghurt, juice, pastries and really good coffee. Our second morning Jane Escobar and three of the relatives joined us for breakfast which was nice, Jane is lovely and very chatty.

Portsmouth is a great base - on Newport's doorstep, but not Newport prices. We have stayed in many B&B’s throughout America and Escobars must be one of the best! If you choose to visit Newport, I highly recommend staying at Escobars, it’s wonderful. It’s also an easy 15 minute drive into town & the Mansions on Ocean Drive. Just because this farmhouse sits off the main road, don’t ignore it, the rooms are quiet, the views are great and the service is unbeatable.

I’m afraid the photographs on their web-site don’t do the property justice.

On a scale from 1-5, Escobar’s Farmhouse Inn & Stuart gets a full 5. Outstanding comfort, service & spotlessly clean!

Keep up the good work Stuart and if ever we return to Newport we will certainly book the Katherine suite at Escobars Farmhouse Inn again.

Kind regards

Brian & Linda - England

Room Tip: Choose the Katherine suite, it's large & wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I came for a small weekend get-a-away, and it was absolutely amazing! The service was phenomenal, and the room was clean, comfy, housewarming, and just overall beautiful. I have never stayed in such a place. On top of the place being so great, the food was worth every bite of the calories I shouldn't be in taking :). It felt just like home, but more serenity and peaceful. I highly recommend staying here, if you choose to visit the wonders of Newport and surrounding towns. This place is perfectly in between every attraction, and wonderful food. Even the innkeeper (being a local) can help you out with where to go and perfect places to eat. I know you'll enjoy it as much as we did. It's an opportunity you can't miss out on!!!!

Room Tip: Get the suite :) worth every penny. Your eyes won't believe what they have seen until you walk i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Surprising as it may sound, this lovely farmhouse is just off of the main road and is an oasis of comfort and calm. The pampering begins when you walk in the front door. You are greeted as a member of the family, offered homemade cookies, and given the lay of the land by Stuart, innkeeper extraordinaire. There are 4 charmingly appointed bedrooms, with the Katherine being the largest and most deluxe, It has a bathroom that is as large as some studio apartments, a small kitchenette and multiple sleeping areas. (We stayed in the Katherine suite.) The other rooms are equally gracious and all but one room have private baths. It's the details that make this place stand out from all the other places we have stayed. From the shells that line the molding in the bathroom to the luxury sheets and towels. Breakfasts are to die for. We had portuguese eggs benedict, fresh fruit with granola and yoghurt, juice, pastries and really good coffee. It should be added that Escobar Farmhouse Inn is part of the Escobar dairy farm. The eggs you eat at breakfast were probably laid that morning and the dairy products, cheese, milk, yoghurt, etc. are made from Escobar milk and produced by Cabot, a great cheese company. We actually met 2 VPs from Cabot who were staying at the farmhouse and had come to participate in the milking routine to better know the farmers they represent. Evidently, guests can observe the morning and evening milkings as well. In the Fall they even have a corn maze you can visit. You get all the benefits of "farm" without any of the hard work. How great is that? It should also be added that Stuart's hospitality and extraordinary service really make this place an oasis. He is attentive without being intrusive and really takes pride in providing exceptional service to the guests. Besides being welcomed by Stuart, the owners, Jane and Louie Escobar, will often drop by, introduce themselves and make sure you are enjoying your stay. Escobar Farmhouse is also eco-friendly. Instead of providing bottled water, they provide carafes of Brita filtered water to every room. In conclusion, just because this farmhouse sits off the main road, you shouldn't ignore it. The rooms are quiet, the views are great and the service is unbeatable. It is a unique, one of a kind place where you can truly can rest and recuperate!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out their website as they show pictures of all the rooms and the additional service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A visit to the Newport or Providence area offers a great opportunity to stay at a comfortable and friendly B and B. Each bedroom as well as the kitchen, dining room and living room are comfortable and imaginatively and artistically decorated . You have access to unique towns like Bristol, Tiverton and Little Compton in addition to all of Newport, as well as Jamestown. Fabulous restaurants (at every price range) and unique shopping experiences. Then you have Stuart to welcome you home in the evening and cook you a hearty breakfast each morning. He is a native Rhode Islander and very knowledgeable about the area. Your stay will be memorable and it will become a very personal memory for you and your family. You're bound to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had an amazing time at Escobar's Farmhouse Inn when we stayed earlier this month. The room we stayed in was very well maintained, clean and tidy. The Inn itself is lovely and equipped beyond belief. The innkeeper Stuart, along with Josh and Lucy (the dog) were all delightful and very welcoming. Our home cooked breakfasts were a lovely start to the day as were our after-dinner treats in the evening (much appreciated). We won't be forgetting our time at Escobar's and all hope to make a return visit across the pond when the opportunity arises. Thank you for an amazing time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Katherine Suite (upstairs) which was superb and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escobar's Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escobar's Farmhouse Inn

Address: 2072 East Main Road, Portsmouth, RI 02871
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escobar's Farmhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.