We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown

Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6481 Post Road, North Kingstown, RI 02852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

While it sounds from other reviews as if the actual hotel is equally bad, I wouldn't know. When I arrived after a long drive in desperate need of a bathroom, I was placed in a room across the street. No reason was given for this, but the clerk seemed to have difficulty finding my reservation. To be clear, I booked my room and paid in full for my entire stay two full months in advance of my trip.

The room I was given was abysmal. There was no number on the door to my room (the clerk instructed me to use the room next door to determine which room was mine). The toilet may have flushed eventually, but I didn't stay long enough to find out. Wifi was promised, but did not work. The floor honestly may have been softer than the bed. There was no soap or shampoo. The room had a sliding glass back door that opened to the yard behind the motel. Security mechanisms on this door were nonexistent apart from a flimsy lock. When I went to the front desk on site, it was locked and there was a sign directing me to the lobby across the street (the one I just came from and where I had a reservation).

I left the room after only an hour and sought accommodations elsewhere. When confronted with my complaint, the hotel declined to offer a refund or any compensation. Having been foolish enough to pay in advance, I am now working to have those charged refunded. I failed to check reviews here on TripAdvisor and paid the price for it. Heed my warning and the warnings from other reviews on this site and avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    3
    15
See reviews for
5
5
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otley West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
441 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Found this place quite late in the day. They claimed they were full on that site but we could use the site over the road, the implication being it was part of the same place. It isn't. The room had a odd smell and was far below the standard we've had at other ABVI sites. We feel that we were on the managers own site and he is using ABVI as a front and pockeying the money himself. Having been touring around the US and Canada for the past 6 weeks I can now say we have a new leading for our award for the worst accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Located on a seedy section of the Post Road, had to be buzzed in to the office at 3pm (should tell you something). The room STUNK. The smell was in our nostril for hours. We went out soon after for a bite to eat. The room stunk so bad we decided not to leave anything in the room. Unfortunately we reserved over the internet and the cost was not refundable. We decided to accept the loss and look elsewhere. We found a CLEAN Holiday Express, for less money 5 miles away in Warwick with a complimentary breakfast and friendly staff. If we hadn't found the Holiday I think the car or returning home would have been the alternative. This motel should NOT be on any list of accommodations.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We needed a not too expensive place to stay on our last night before driving up to Providence and than Boston.
The people were very friendly and the rooms were clean enough.
The beds were fine and we did not have any trouble with noise from neighbours or the road in front of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Phone doesn't work and not even a dial tone. Sealing looks like it was leaking. Toilet doesn't flush well. Beds are wrapped up in plastic sheets. Sheets are not changed. Smells mold. Spiders in rooms. Floor uneven. Room shakes !

Why is this motel not condemned with all these violations

Room Tip: Call the town and ask why this
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Americas Best Value Inn ! This must be a joke when it comes to the one in North Kingstown, Rhode Island. This worst value Inn is disgusting, over priced, smelly place with cracked walls, leaky faucets, no heat, toilet doesn't flush, ceiling looks like it was leaking and beds are so hard and wrapped up in plastic sheets, perhaps, to prevent bed bugs coming out.

I didn't even check in even at the time of blizzard and power outage in Rhode island.

Room Tip: Avoid ! Call the authorities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

America's Best Value Inn in North Kingstown, Rhode Island lacks even basic things such as sufficient heat and quality toilet. The room shakes while walking and they recycle unwashed bed sheets. There are cracks on the walls and ceiling looks like it was leaking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kingstown
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown

Address: 6481 Post Road, North Kingstown, RI 02852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > North Kingstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in North Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of North Kingstown, RI. Our single story design inn features 20 well appointed guest rooms. Our comfy units offer cable TV with HBO, microwave, mini-fridge and much more. Within close proximity of the Rhode Island Mall, Providence Civic Center Arena, Brown University Stadium and University of Rhode Island. Also only 7 miles from Theodore Francis Green State Airport. Come stay with us and be enjoy all of what North Kingstown has to offer. Americas Best Value Inn-Kingstown, "We've Got You Covered." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn North Kingstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.