We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gregg's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gregg's Restaurant
4120 Quaker Ln, North Kingstown, RI 02852-3603
(401) 294-5700
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Restaurant details
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“A nice little pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stopped by on our way to the airport and settled in for a beer and a veggie wrap. Priced right and pleasant staff.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saunderstown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, good price... kids friendly... read on...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Like I said Gregg's has it all. A variety on the menu (something for almost anyone), pricing that is quite competitive, they even run specials on Monday and Tuesday nights. The restaurant is kid friendly and the staff is just lovely. BUT I save the best for last, just as you would when dining, THE DESSERT!!!! It's the best. Big pieces of cake, pie, eclair, etc. The desserts are wonderful, so save room for them, or bring one home for later! Trust me you have to have a dessert! I cant' see whey someone would only give the restaurant three circles. If you are visiting from out of town or living in town and want a nice place to eat that isn't going to cost you your first child, then go to Gregg's.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hit or miss food - Service is lackadaisical - but oh those desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Eating at Gregg's is a roll of the dice, sometimes the food is great other times no so much. Much of the food is made at an off site commissary. The deserts are Top Drawer every time. No one on staff is in a rush and sometimes you must ask for Pickles (you get a saucer of cut sour pickles free) or bread. But both are great once you get 'em. I guess my point is if you're in a rush go elsewhere. South County has many good eateries but none as good as Gregg's at their best. When not at their best they are never bad just mediocre and the service is uniformly slow. THE DESSERTS ARE GREAT and that makes up for a lot. They also have a take out bakery so if you are a chocolate eclair junkie, a strawberry shortcake fiend, or a mile high lemon meringue lover you can feed your addiction on the run.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to go when you don't feel like cooking but don't want to spend $$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Gregg's is the "go-to" restaurant when you want a good meal at a good price. This is not five-star dining establishment, but the meals are always satisfying, the staff is always pleasant and the price is always reasonable.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Easter ruined..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We stopped for dinner at Greggs after spending the day in RI. Took twenty minutes from sit down till the waiter asked for our drinks. We needed to ask twenty minutes after that for him to take our food order, and then asked another waiter for rolls and pickles because he didn't ask..or bring any. Food was very dried out, some cold. Extremely tasteless. French did roast beef had no flavor, the au gus tasted like brown water. French meat pie was pretty inedible. Server asked if my father wanted light or dark for his turkey dinner, he said dark....all white meat was served. Asked for drink refills when dinner was served. Waiter took the glasses, walked by our table ten minutes later, asked him where the drinks were, he said that all the glasses were dirty...umm, ok. Another ten minutes for drinks, pretty much came back when we were finished. Spoke to the manager on the way out, told him about the horrible service..he shrugged and walked away. A shame, this place, its servers and cooks..just a shame.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gregg's Restaurant also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Gregg's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gregg's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.