We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wickford Diner

Wickford Diner
64 Brown St, North Kingstown, RI 02852-5040
401-295-5477
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Little joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Once a month my family heads down for a Sunday morning breakfast. fresh fast and well valued! Plus get to stroll the village afterwards.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    4
    6
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another Tucker disaster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Use to really be a local diner. Now connected to the shack next door, weird hours weird staff weird service, hit or miss food. Duffys sucks and this place is a little better, but not by much. And depending on which characters stuffed in there to run it that day. When it's good its good I will say that, BUT YOU ARE DEFINITELY GAMBLING.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great staff great service, Jake R was GREAT!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

was given a tip that the food is great, and was not disappointed. The staff was pleasant and wish it was closer to home!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ugh!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Table, and restaurant overall, was dirty. Food was greasy. Chowder had a skin on top of it. Clam cakes were mostly cake with hardly any clam at all. Waitress shorted us our change after she rushed us through our meal and was pushy about ordering more drinks.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, a nice surprise from our GPS.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

On August 13, 2011, my wife and I were traveling between Mystic, CT and Newport, RI and were looking for a diner for breakfast. There weren't many options along our route, so we set our GPS to find us somewhere to eat and Wickford Diner came up. Upon arrival, it looked like a nice little diner - perhaps a bit dated but seemed clean overall. We were seated quickly, but waited for about 10 minutes for our server. There may have been 4 other tables and two waitresses - so the wait seemed a bit longer than necessary. When we did order, we tried a cup of each of their clam chowders - both were surprisingly good. Our breakfasts were also good, and were good value for the money. The only negative was the service, which was inefficient and indifferent. Apparently, the waitresses don't support each other - the second waitress was serving the table next to ours and walked by our table 4-5 times refilling the coffee at her table but completely ignoring our empty cups. In fact, she refused to even make eye contact with us. Our waitress was far less attentive, so we wound up only having her visit us once after our food was delivered (to deliver our check). Overall, the food made up for the lackluster service. It wouldn't have taken more than 10 seconds for the second waitress to refill our coffee cups and would have made the overall experience much better. Food was very good, service was poor, so a three out of five rating is reflective of our experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickford Diner also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Wickford Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickford Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.