We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding 2 hour trip on the fast ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhode Island Bay Cruises

Rhode Island Bay Cruises
1347 Roger WIlliams Way, North Kingstown, RI 02852
4012954040
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
RHODE ISLAND
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“outstanding 2 hour trip on the fast ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

FREE parking: go on line to order your tickets and save $5.00 off of each ticket. Go to the end of the pier area and large parking lots with attendants to help you park. A ticket office is right there and a short walk to the boat.Great ride,we ride uptop for great view.
Outstanding value as you get to see everything and it is a real history lesson on the whole area not just the lighthouses.You get plenty of information and the views are outstanding.You go all the way to Newport harbor and see the great yachts and the harbor and forts. It was so good we want to do it again just for the great trip. An outstanding value if you have 2 hours. Just make sure of the boats schedule.That is most important as the boat goes out twice a day. I like the afternoon ride best as the fogs have all cleared out and it is picture perfect. Bring your camera. Plenty of Bathrooms and a bar and snack bar as well on the boat. If you do not want to stand you can sit in a great lounge area very comfy as well. As stated I like up top and standing along the rail. Again,this is a trip you do not want to miss. Loved it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well worth the time and money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The ferry took us to see all the lighthouses and the captain would point out all the historically important buildings at Newport Harbor, the engineering significance on how some of the lighthouses were built. Newport is about sailing and the ocean, the 90 minutes cruise gave us the view of the harbor form sea, time well spent. Parking at the ferry terminal was free.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lighthouse Fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Must see for fans of lighthouses. Great way to see 10 of the lighthouses in Jamestown and Newport up close along with the Jamestown & Newport bridges. Also great way to see Newport Harbor. Plenty of outside viewing room on boat to take pictures. Captain slows boat at each locations so you can get some great views along with photos.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“This company sucks; money is their only concern but not customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This company uses thousands of lines policy to cheat customers. I do not feel well and cannot make the cruise, but they do not agree to refund and said that they have their policy but do not consider my health issue. When I talked more about the reasons, the employee just repeat "I cannot hear you, I cannot hear you." Then hang up my call.

This company really sucks!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Evening on the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We chartered the boat as evening entertainment for a business convention (May 31, 2012). The weather for the evening was perfect and provided for perfect picture taking as the sun started to set. The tour covered lighthouses, interesting landmarks, and the Newport harbor area; our trip was narrated and included plenty of interesting facts that even the locals in our group had not heard before. It was very interesting seeing all of these sites from the water, especially getting up close to some of the off shore lighthouses. Our event committee received an overwhelming number of compliments from guests who went on the tour!

To get to the boat we followed the signs for Martha's Vineyard Fast Ferry on I-95 and Rt 4. The boat had bar service and light snacks. I stood in an area at the front of the boat and had no problems seeing the sights, but it is definitely easier to see things if you stand rather than sit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhode Island Bay Cruises also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Rhode Island Bay Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhode Island Bay Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.