We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Moderately Priced.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Bistro & WineBar

Sonoma Bistro & WineBar
7366 Post Road, North Kingstown, RI 02852
+1 401-295-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Bistro, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our menu both intrigues and comforts with an interesting blend of rustic classics and purely creative dishes. Stylish but unpretentious, Our pub and wine bar offers a lively setting perfect for fun cocktails after work. With 36 drafts on tap, over 25 wines by the glass and many creative cocktails there is no lack of choices. Oh! don't forget live music on Friday and Saturday nights including 7 flat screens for your sporting needs. Our dining rooms are perfect for an intimate dinner or a gathering place for family and friends. For larger parties we have several elegant private rooms accommodating up to 140 people.
Warwick, RI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Moderately Priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Went in for dinner with my wife last Saturday night. Had the lobster roll which had a generous portion of lobster sauted in butter served on a buttered roll. Also had the handcut fries which were delicisous as well as the fried mozerella triangles which are one of my favorites. ALso had a very generous salad. All meals are served with warm bread and butter. Took home some Key Lime pie served on a grahmcracker crust for desert which was also great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian L, Owner at Sonoma Bistro & WineBar, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you. It's always nice to hear we're doing a good job. In our efforts to constantly improve we sometimes focus on our opportunities and forget to celebrate our successes. Positive reviews are a great reminder.

Sincerely,

Thank You from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My go to place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I've been going to Sonoma on a regular basis since I moved to the area in October, and had always been there when visiting my parents prior to that. The owners and staff are great, and the food is absolutely fantastic. I go in on my own at least once a week, and have never felt out of place, everyone is friendly, customers and staff.

As a beer fan, the 36 taps are awesome, and I love the mix of local and nation-wide craft brews (although I always seem to order the same thing). The specials are always great, and it's obvious they take pride in their food and restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good food and bartenders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having heard some good things, we visited Sonoma for the first time and sat at the bar on a Saturday evening around 5pm in late April 2014. The bartenders were helpful and the meals and drinks were excellent. We will be retuning soon and thank you for the good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian L, Owner at Sonoma Bistro & WineBar, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
On behalf of our staff Thank You for taking the time to notice our hard work and effort to make every experience outstanding.

Christian and Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvd
1 review
“Response to restaurants manager at sonoma grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Regarding the review from Sonoma Grill by management was done with disrespect for the customer. My viewpoint has always been the the customer is right and every effort should be made to make them happy, not to try and right all that was wrong. We have been to this restaurant several times before, and respect the service at those times, but to experience on Mother's Day as stipulated in our review, you can not make good a bad experience. Management review in length was not warranted. An admission of a bad experience in meeting customer satisfaction and a promise to make it better would have been more appropriate rather than a full line excuse to meet customer needs. We will no longer visit or recommend the Sonoma Grille with so many other good restaurants to be welcomed as a customer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian L, Owner at Sonoma Bistro & WineBar, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We wholeheartedly agree with you 100 percent. Our job is to do everything within our power to make our guests happy. However it is NOT our job to be verbally abused and yelled at in our dining room because one is unhappy with their seating arrangement and unable to communicate that dissatisfaction in a respectful manor. We are sorry that you interpreted our response as excuse making. It was done with the utmost respect in the hope that a glimpse into the challenges we face might be helpful in tempering her anger and frustration. We're sorry that you choose to no longer be guests in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seafood!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We visited Sonoma on Monday night while out with the kids. Wasn't sure our "family" would be Sonoma friendly (we have 3 kids 2,4, and7). The owner assured us to come right on in. We had a great time. Our server was friendly and acccomodating. My wife had the Grapefruit glazed salmon and I had the lobster and scallop risotto, amazing!!! The kiddos enjoyed the nachos and burgers. They have it all at Sonoma. The owner told us about their Dinner for 2 nights, and live entertainment on the weekends. Can't wait to go back and try the room with the Fireplace.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Bistro & WineBar also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Sonoma Bistro & WineBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Bistro & WineBar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.