We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Narragansett, Incredible Breakfasts with the Sweetest Innkeepers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone's Throw Inn

Stone's Throw Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone's Throw Inn
56 Central St., Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Clinton, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Narragansett, Incredible Breakfasts with the Sweetest Innkeepers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Stones Throw Inn for four nights, while vacationing in Narragansett to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. When we decided on Narragansett as our destination, we looked specifically for a B&B which would put us within walking distance to the beach and area attractions (restaurants, etc.) so that we could enjoy a relaxing time soaking up the sun during our stay. We both love breakfast, so B&Bs are our favorite type of hotel while we travel. Stones Throw Inn caught our eye due to its proximity to the beach, and after we read so many other positive reviews. Our stay more than exceeded our expectations! Pam and Dennis welcomed us into their beautiful home as if we were part of their family. Breakfast times were flexible depending on our schedule. Each morning we were greeted in the dining room with a beautiful spread that included a pretty table for two by the window, coffee/tea/juice/ice water, a huge plate of fruit, an entire batch of a sweet breakfast treat (i.e. a whole monkey bread, 3 mini loaves of banana bread, etc.), followed by eggs (fresh from the hens in the backyard), bacon/sausage, potatoes and a main entree (i.e. pancakes, french toast, begian waffles, etc.), with Pam always offering to make more if we wanted it! Everything was extremely delicious, and filled us up each morning so that we were not hungry for another meal until dinner time each day! Pam even wrapped up leftover baked goods (leaving them with fresh beach towels) so that we would be able to enjoy them as an afternoon snack on the beach. Our room (the Beachcomber) was very comfortable and private. Pam and Dennis had beach chairs, beach towels, and boogie boards available to borrow, and were quick to share great recommendations for local restaurants and attractions. Thank you, Pam and Dennis, for such a wonderful stay! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I are met at URI and decided to return to Narragansett to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We stayed for three nights in the third floor suite which was so spacious and peaceful and and allowed us to cook lobsters fresh from the docks (our favorite past time) in its kitchen. Pam and Dennis were wonderful hosts...so friendly, accommodating, generous. Pam cooks the most amazing breakfast with fresh fruit, pastries, juices and organic eggs right from their backyard. Great, convenient location that is within walking distance to the pier, Narragansett beach and various restaurants near the water. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we plan on (hopefully) returning each year for a little anniversary getaway! Highly recommend to anyone who is looking to stay in the South County area...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights when in town for a wedding in Narragansett. We had the third floor suite, shared with another couple. Other friends rented the other suites in the b&b. We were all very happy with our rooms - comfortable, spacious. The third floor suite particularly had a lot of room. The proprietors are a lovely couple - very welcoming and accommodating. They served breakfast at our chosen time and didn't mind serving us late (10am). The breakfast was outstanding - lots of food, a variety of dishes served each day. Eggs come from the chickens on the property! We are from NYC and one friend joked he wants to go back every weekend for brunch. They had everything we wanted to spend the afternoon at the beach (towels, chairs, boogie boards). The room was freshened up while we were out for the day then I'm pretty sure fresh linens were dropped off again while we were gone in the evening which was very nice - to have a fresh towel to shower in the am right before checking out. Location is great, home is very quiet. Definitely a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I spent the weekend in Narragansett for a friend's wedding. A number of my friends and I got rooms in the Stones Throw Inn bed and breakfast. The house is beautiful and the B&B owners are incredibly friendly. Their breakfast was amazing both mornings. I highly recommend it if you are planning on staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were invited to a wedding in Narragansett. Never having been there, I picked Stones Throw Inn based solely on online reviews. I was not disappointed. The house was beyond charming, the location perfect, and Pam & Dennis were the sweetest most generous hosts I've ever had the pleasure to encounter. I highly recommend this lovely establishment with it's delicious home cooked breakfast, huge comfortable beds, and kindhearted owners to anyone visiting the RI coast area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Beds. Extra comfortable. Breakfasts. Plentiful and delicious! I just spent this Memorial Day Weekend at the Stones Throw. We took an old friend for a birthday weekend. The Inn is in a great location - especially for those who like a good walk in the morning - only about a block and a half down to the main sidewalk that runs along the beach - close to Narragansett Beach and a little bit farther from Scarborough Beach.

More important than location was our experience at the Inn! We stayed in the Daydream Suite which is 3 queen beds, one bathroom, and a very comfortable living room with large windows and tons of natural light.

Pam and Dennis are incredibly nice and made us feel right at home. They couldn't have been more accommodating. Pam asked us our preferred breakfast time, and when we couldn't finish it all, placed the leftovers in our room fridge. Fruit was the perfect snack returning from the beach in the afternoon! Not to mention, the eggs were fresh from their hens in the backyard!

With the four of us, this made perfect sense financially since we would have been paying a similar amount to get 2 rooms in a chain hotel. Next time I'm in Narragansett I am definitely staying at the Stones Throw!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This review is shamefully over due, but my husband and I stayed at the Stones Throw Inn during Labor Day weekend in 2011 and it was fantastic! It was our first anniversary and my husband happened to be in a wedding at the Towers that Saturday so we decided to make a nice long weekend out of it, staying 2 nights. We could not have been happier! This was our first time staying at a B&B so I was a little nervous about it, but we couldn't have made a better choice! Pam and Dennis, who run the B&B are kindest and most accommodating people I think I've ever met. They really define "hospitality".
The B&B is a gorgeous old Victorian located on a lovely little street just 2 blocks from the water and the downtown area. It was so close to everything we needed/wanted that using the car was totally unnecessary. We also took a nice afternoon into Newport which is just 20 minutes away.
The B&B itself is very clean and neat. We stayed in the single room which was definitely more spacious than I expected. It had a king size bed, loveseat, good sized bathroom, flat screen TV, mini fridge, and AC--just perfect for what we wanted. As part of their superior hospitality, Pam prepares a delicious homemade breakfast in their lovely little dining room. The breakfast is huge and varied with everything from fruit and yogurt to French toast and bacon. It is absolutely delicious!
This was our first time in Narragansett and we fell in love with the whole place, and I’m positive a lot of that had to do with our great experience at Stones Throw Inn! We hope to return to Narragansett for long weekends in the future and there is no question where we will be staying!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone's Throw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone's Throw Inn

Address: 56 Central St., Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Narragansett Pier. Walk to beach, Towers, shopping and restaurants. Spacious room and suites thoughtfully designed for your comfort. Both the Daydream and Wish Suites and the Beachcomber Room have private baths, cable TV, individually controlled air conditioning and Wi-Fi Internet access. Both suites include a living room and The Wish Suite also includes a full kitchen. Choice of full breakfast enjoyed in our elegant dining room or on the Tuscan-columned wrap-around porch or continental breakfast left outside your suite’s door. Convenient to Newport, Mystic, Providence, URI, Block Island Ferry and marinas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone's Throw Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stone's Throw Inn to your Saves list