We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn of Galilee

Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Inn of Galilee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lighthouse Inn of Galilee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   307 Great Island Road, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Narragansett
Westfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here multiple times during the summer of 2012, from July through Labor Day. Trust me, it's nothing special, but the location is great. Just across the street from the Block Island Ferry and two blocks from the Salty Brine State Beach. There are also a number of restaurants within walking distance. The motel itself is old and could use some updating. Some rooms are in better condition than others. The indoor pool area is very spacious and clean. It's a great area to gather if you're travelling with a large group or family. Customer Service is pretty friendly and accommodating. We always make our reservations directly with Brad at the front desk. Travelers be aware that there are no microwaves or refridgerators in the rooms. Do not park directly in front of the building. We found that the seagulls seem to favor those cars. Parking is better on the very left hand side or the front row behind the souvenir shop. The motel does leave a hose and scrub brushes to clean your car off. All in all, if you're not going to spend a lot of time in your room, the negatives will not afect you.

Room Tip: The 2nd Floor has more of an ocean breeze than the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    24
    16
    50
See reviews for
50
36
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed here over Columbus Day weekend. We chose it for location to Newport & Block Island. I have to admit I was a little worried after reading the reviews. It turned out to be a decent place to stay. The rooms were dated but clean. Not spotless but not scary. Beds were comfortable and we had clean towels & toiletries. The pool was very nice & very warm. There was some garbage in a barrel near the pool area that could have been emptied but as it was the end of the season there seemed to be only 2 people working there. I would recommend to management to have Dunkin Donuts lease your empty restaurant as there are zero breakfast places in the area and with all the Ferry traffic & people parking at the hotel, it would be a very successful venture. There is seagull poop (some people freaked out about that) but the hotel is directly across the street from the harbor where the seagulls live so you get the good with the bad. I would imagine it would be busier in the summer but a great place for families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Took my 2 nieces and nephew to the Lighthouse Inn in Galilee for a little get away before they went back to school. They had no idea where they were going so it was a surprise for them! We had a ball. Went to the beach all day out for dinner and ice cream and swam in the pool until closing! The place is old and worn, but they do there best to keep it clean. The pool area was great and we had a room right at poolside! I'm sure that place was great in it's day! Linens & towels were clean. We were not there for the hotel, but for the beach so we loved it because we walked everywhere we went. They want to go back next summer so I guess the "Mystery Trip" was a hit! :)

Room Tip: If you have kids that like the pool get a room poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Recently had a friend’s wedding in the area and a block of rooms where booked after the holiday inn had messed up the reservations for the wedding party. I decided to stay over last minute and was very pleased to still have rooms available.

The good- The rooms we had all overlooked the pool area which we were able to use after the wedding until the wee hours of the morning. That was GREAT; I have never seen a hotel with that type of group accommodation before. The staff where friendly, let us checks in a little early and gave us great suggestions for breakfast places.

The Bad- This is where I think if the hotel put a little more effort could really bring the quality of the stay up, the cleanliness of the rooms. The beds were made and the room seemed vacuumed but the attention to detail was not there. We found candy wrappers behind the head board and a fair share of dust around the TV and on the furniture.

The Ugly- In our room and there was a moist / moldy smell. I am not sure if this is because of the close proximity to the pool but if the room had a deep clean and an investment in a dehumidifier and maybe new carpets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I hope you and your friends had a great time at the wedding and enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your feedback on the attention to detail and odor and will address both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were part of a wedding party that reserved 16 rooms this past weekend at the Light House Inn. Unbelievable to say the least. We check in and got to our room, the floor obviously had not been vacuumed in a while. My husband goes to wash his hands and it was obvious the sink area has not been touched by housekeeping for days. We then discover we have no towels, tissues, anything. I call the front desk and ask for housekeeping to come up with towels and clean the room. The person at the front desk said, “um, I am the only one on today so I will bring you towels when I get time.” Time!!! It is 8 p.m. at night and no one cleaned our room.

I walk downstairs and then proceed to follow the front desk person into the laundry room to get towels from the dryer. I then return to my room where my husband has turned down the sheets to inspect the last time the sheets have been changed. Obviously not anytime in the past 3 days. There were a TON of bodily fluids on the sheets. The top sheet looked like a porn had been filmed right there. We checked out about 10 mins later and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I have reviewed the situation with all staff and have made changes to the staff in regards to the cleaning of your guest room. I hope you were able to find suitable accomodations and enjoy your time at the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

When we arrived our room had not been cleaned completely. Looks like they made the beds and vaccummed but didn't blean the sink and counters and stock with towels, etc. After a number of trips to the front desk we got what we needed. They offered to move us but the next room wasn't much better so we cleaned up. It seemed that there was no one there to help out. The manager was very nice the next day. The exterior needs a lot of work. Love the location though

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I apologize you had to make so many trips to the front desk and glad I was able to end your stay on a positive note. We continue to work with our staff to ensure the room is clean and ready at the time of check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

While everything was sold out for the Newport Folk Festival, this was really the only option left in the area that didn't jack up their rates. Rooms are outdated and could use an update, but I'm sure the staff knows that. Pool was indoors and nice, although closed a bit early for my liking. Best part was the proximity to Point Judith beach and a few bars (which aren't that great). Being this close to area beaches and restaurants was great, and definitely worth it for a stop over with a group of friends.

Room Tip: Definitely go with one on the outer perimeter of the building - I'd imagine the pool would get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseinnGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what we had to offer. I agree we are an older property but we do have a lot to offer and try to provide the best value in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lighthouse Inn of Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn of Galilee

Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn Of Galilee Hotel Narragansett
Lighthouse Inn Of Galilee Hotel
Lighthouse Hotel Narragansett
Lighthouse Hotel Of Galilee
Address: 307 Great Island Road, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Narragansett
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Inn of Galilee 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Lighthouse Inn of Galilee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.