We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"PERFECT"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shells By The Sea B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shells By The Sea B&B
8 River View Road, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Derby, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"PERFECT"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I travel to Narragansett every summer and stay at a B & B. Shells by the sea was by far the most beautiful place to just relax and enjoy the comfort and hospitality provided by Shell and Ned. Their pool (which was the highlight of my husband's stay) was amazing. We had the best time and felt we were treated more like family than guests. Awesome place that I would highly recommend and do plan on visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family of three, including my husband and our 3-year-old daughter, stayed at Shells by the Sea for nearly a week and couldn't have been happier or more comfortable. The place had been recommended to us by my cousin who was getting married; not sure how she found it, because in planning our trip PriceLine didn't even include SBTS as an option. Still, this B&B was not only the most affordable option for us, but also the most convenient, situated close to the beach, restaurants, and major roadways. For all the luxuries of modern society, SBTS boasts a relaxing and private atmosphere. It's backyard, complete with a heated pool (!!!) is surrounded by beautiful flora. The interior of SBTS is spacious and serene. We had our own private bathroom, and we would do that option again. The only recommendation I would have for the B&B is offer locks/keys to the room. We came back every day to find our room door wide open after having shut it tight when we left - since we were out and about for large chunks of the day, it was a little tiring to check inventory every night before we went to bed. Other than that, no complaints, especially where breakfast is concerned. The food was delicious - we found our family enjoys Eggs Benedict :) The owners are wonderful people with caring hearts and conversation with them will be missed. Our 3-year-old still asks for "cha-chi" --- we will be staying there again when we return to the East Coast.

Room Tip: The downstairs king bed with private bathroom was a blessing, especially having a small child with u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary, and were looking for a special place to celebrate, we certainly found it. We've been to Narragansett before, but haven't enjoyed our stay as much as we did @ Shells By The Sea. Shell and Ned are very pleasant and accommodating. We had the suite downstairs so we were fortunate enough to have our own bathroom/fitness room/living room area which was fabulous. We will definitely be back again soon!

Room Tip: Try to get the downstairs suite if possible, it's quiet, private and has it's own bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My entire family consisting of 18 people were in Rhode Island for my nieces's wedding. We had a wonderful time at Shells by the Sea. It was just what the doctor ordered. We all live in different parts of the country and came together here for 4 days in a homey home. The house is very lovely and set up in such a way that you do not even hear from one room to another. The decor is colorful and comfy. Shell and her husband even helped out with last minute details for the wedding. Ned sat with the guys and chatted as if he knew them his whole life and Shell hung with the girls and was so much fun to be around. I am sure if you wanted them to give you more privacy they would have but we really enjoyed their company and wanted them to be around us as they added something to this special time. The breakfast was great and they asked what you preferred each day before. How can you beat that? The pool and pool area has nice lounge chairs; the water was so perfect, as well as the landscaping. Would I go there again? You bet I would; we all would!! We have great memories of Shells by the Sea! The Mina/Starkey/Dias/Danevich Families

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I have been to Shells By The Sea twice already, and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Rhode Island !! It is the most beautiful B&B we have ever stayed in.
The furnishings are luxurious and the home is decorated so perfectly !! Shell and Ned are the perfect hosts and make you feel right at home. The breakfasts are just delicious - fresh and hiome-made. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyione who is looking for a really memorable experience !! Trudy and Gary Higgins

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

need to wake up later than their breakfast time,You won't want to live here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Everything was very clean. Breakfast was great. They were accommodating to all our needs. We loved the pool and the pool table. The up stair suit was very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shells By The Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shells By The Sea B&B

Address: 8 River View Road, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shells By The Sea is an elegant non-smoking adult environment, that feels just like home. Hosts Shell and Ned treat guests to a warm welcome and cool comfortable stay, along with a home cooked breadfast . Guest's can enjoy playing pool or working out in our exercise room. Perhaps a 600 square foot suite is what your looking for. Not to mention Rhode Island's beaches, Newport, Wickford, BlockIsland, Jamestown, and the University of Rhode Island. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shells By The Sea B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shells By The Sea B&B to your Saves list