We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Rose Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Rose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Rose Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 2882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Narragansett
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Older Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel lacks ammenities that we are used to these days. I dind't pack a hair dryer because hotels these days furnish them in each room. There was no hairdryer so I had to borrow one from the front desk for the duration of our stay. Also, no refrigerators and we didn't see ice machines. This is an older establishment that is more motel than hotel. I would say 1960's. No bathroom vanity, either. It basically serves your needs - bed, bathroom. Found it to be clean and the linens were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Ocean Rose Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our Inn. We are glad to hear that you found our Inn to be clean and to your standards. We hope your trip to Narragansett, RI was enjoyable and look forward to having you return to our Inn
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    12
    15
    21
See reviews for
18
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

There are two distinct parts of this establishment; traditional luxury rooms in the main building and a 2-storey motel in the back. We stayed in the motel.
We made a reservation many months before but after reading the latest (terrible) reviews the day before we arrived, we almost cancelled. Nevertheless, we arrived and asked to see the room before checking-in. Our room (unit 22) was just OK.
Referring to previous reviews: the room was not dirty or musty, though it had a strong smell of disinfectant; all the bathroom fixtures were attached and working and there was plenty of hot water. One of the beds had a firm mattress; the other was soft.
One of the table lamps was unplugged and we had to move the bed slightly to find the outlet. The motel units are off the main street in a quieter location. During the night, when anyone flushed the toilet in other units, the pipes by our unit “gurgled” loudly enough to interrupt our sleep.
This minimalist motel was expensive ($119.) but still one-half the cost of other places in a very expensive location. There aren’t many good choices in the area. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Ocean Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you found our Inn to be clean and in working order. Your comments and suggestions are taken quite seriously and we will check into the issues you had raised. We hope that you found your trip to Narragansett, RI to be enjoyable and were able to relax by the beaches just down the street.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This small inn is right across the street from the ocean but not the actual beach area. There's lots of street parking but the motel parking is very tight. We had a room in the detached motel bldg. not in the actual inn/ restaurant bldg. The motel rooms are a lot cheaper but very clean! As expected the furnishings were very worn/dated.single small 50's pink tiled shower with no light lol The bedding was new and comfortable. The Tv was an ample flat screen but we never even turned it on.be prepared to haul your luggage up and down a full flight of outside deck stairs if your on the 2nd floor and your slider leads to a common shared upper porch deck so we kept curtains closed the whole time even though it was a nice view . I guess for the view location and very clean it was acceptable

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Ocean Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting Narragansett, Rhode Island. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. Above all, we are glad to know that we met and exceeded your expectations in making sure that our Inn is clean and well kept. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed with our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful but our room was old, smelled like smoke and was not very clean. The furniture was dirty, the bathroom was tiny and clearly old with rusted faucets and it looked like it had not been swept in a while. There was a deck that looked out to the water but no chairs in our room and the ones we saw were broken and dirty. Parking is also a problem.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Ocean Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay while at the Ocean Rose Inn. Your comments and suggestions are taken quite seriously and we will certainly check into any issues that you mention to prevent them from happening again.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farragut, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We thought that we were staying at the ocean rose inn and ended up in a motel room behind the inn. The beds were comfortable and that is it. The bathroom was in poor shape and very tight quarters. The sink was coming away from the wall, water was leaking from the pipes, the toilet seat was stained, and the shower was very small. I have had better accommodations at camp sights. We paid $200 a night and it offered nothing. ( No refigerator, no breakfast) Sleeping was difficult as the people above us were very noisey. This inn/motel was a BIG disappointment and way over priced. Shame on the owners for not taking a little more pride with their motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Ocean Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
I’m concerned about your recent visit at our facility and the impression you have of our Innl. I’m writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.
We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn you’re unhappy with the hotel. Please accept my sincere apology. We appreciate your feedback and comments and suggestions. We will certainly check into the comments and make sure they don’t happen again.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Plains, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Place initially looks very nice. However, the room (which had a nice view) needs major updating. First, THE BED was horrible! (See Pic) It was so old and saggy and we could not believe that they would actually allow anybody to sleep on it especially when paying such a high price for a one night stay. Also, since there is a restaurant downstairs directly in the lobby; the noise is extremely loud. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay this is NOT the place. Noise went on well into the early morning due to the bar outside and the restaurant staff cleaning up. Lastly, if you stay here plan on getting up early due to a hot water shortage. It took 5 mins for the water to even reach our room on the third floor and then I burned the living hell out of myself when it finally (surprisingly) came out of the faucet. Advice Look elsewhere....Advice to the Hotel Owners....MODERNIZE-START WITH THE HORRIBLE BED! It was so bad I pulled two chairs together and slept on them instead!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Ocean Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and comments and suggestions. We certainly will check into the issues you mentioned in your review and rectify any situations that need to be. We take all comments seriously and thank you for your review.
Regards
Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormville, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is an attractive Inn. If you are looking for something nice, stay in one of the upatairs rooms in the Inn. These rooms are spacious with hardwood floors, new bathrooms and balcony. Otherwise the side building has the next best rooms, which are similiar to the back building but larger with high tray ceilings. Then the back building has average rooms which could use new carpet and a little freshening up. Overall a clean, decent place. There is a beautiful diningroom which overlooks the water and also nice outdoor porch and lawn.

Room Tip: If it fits your budget, I recommend the upstairs rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sknri, Manager at Ocean Rose Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your wonderful stay while at the Ocean Rose Inn. We hope you enjoyed Narragansett and the wonderful beaches and restaurants.

Regards

Doug Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Rose Inn

Address: 113 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 2882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Rose Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on scenic Ocean Road in Narragansett, the Ocean Rose Inn offers its guests breathtaking ocean views. Seconds away from your luxurious guest room are countless opportunities for fun - including biking, beachcombing, deep-sea fishing and antique collecting. Sail picturesque harbors and endless coastlines, shop one-of-a-kind boutiques, lounge on Narragansett Beach or golf on some of New England's most scenic courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ocean Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Rose Hotel Narragansett
Ocean Rose Narragansett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.