We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of hit or miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champlin's Seafood

Champlin's Seafood
256 Great Island Road, PO Box 426, Narragansett, RI 02882
401 783 3152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 86 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Castroville, TX
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A bit of hit or miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

A think it is a bit of hit or miss here, but our lobster, razor necks, steamers, and lobster roll were more than fine. The "stuffies" (stuffed clams) were a bit of a loss. My guess would be that when the crowds are gone the quality goes up a bit.

The view is great, lots of seating, and the service more than friendly given the crowd.

I just wish they would start to use more environmental sustainable packaging.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Except for the steamers (which were sweet and yummy), everything else was fair at best. The 6 oz of baked 'sea scallops' were so overcooked! They were tough and very chewy. The fries were not crunchy at all, nor were the fried whole belly clams! Half the fun is having them crunchy on the outside. The chowder (white and red) needed added seasonings. The red chowder tasted like tomato juice was added to the broth. Ick! At $12.99 a qt, it was a major rip off! The stuffies were very dense from too much bread, with hardly any chopped clams. It was not baked long enough because the outside was not crunchy at all. Such a disappointment and waste of money! Skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Extremely fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Third time visiting and couldn't be more pleased. The seafood is always so fresh and delicious. The only thing I didn't care for much was the stuffed shrimp. It tasted ok but it looked unlike anything I've ever eaten before! Not sure what's in their recipe but I'd love to know! Will be back for sure. Lines get long so go early.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stopped by one night for a seafood dinner & we were not disappointed. Tried the stuffed clams & seafood platter which was more than enough for two. The seafood was fresh & tasty & went well with the view of the harbor. The wait was not unbearable given the size of the crowd. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Nice view right on the water. Very New England feel. We had the steamers, fried clams and baked stuffed flounder. All very, very good. Nice beer selection. Nice cocktail selection. I'd go back in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champlin's Seafood also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Champlin's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champlin's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.