We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have expected fresher seafood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Carrie's Restaurant

Aunt Carrie's Restaurant
1240 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-6219
401-783-7930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 86 Restaurants in Narragansett
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Would have expected fresher seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stopped at Aunt Carrie's for lunch on our way to the Point Judith Lighthouse. My husband had the calamari. He said it was tough and was not fresh, probably frozen. When the waitress asked if he wanted to take the rest home, he said no, it was not good. At least they were nice enough to take it off of the bill. I had the 1/2 crab sandwich, I'm still not sure if it was real crab. It didn't have much flavor, and there was a lot of bread. The sandwich was overpriced for the quality. It seems like it was more of a tourist trap type of place, with "fast seafood".

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    50
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What's the attraction here?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Aunt Carries has been around for eons, and I have no idea why. People line up for lunch and dinner every day during the summer and weekends the place is a mob scene. Clearly I am missing something. In my view the place is a clam shack, and not a very good one @ that. But hey, I'm clearly in the minority here!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south sutton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Point Judith revisit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Quaint restaurant, good service, good food. We both had clam chowder, too many potatos, but good flavor, clam cakes were wonderful as was our crabmeat sandwiches. good value.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pay the price for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Restaurant is bright and breezy and overlooks the ocean. No wait on a Tuesday at noon. Many items are market priced and are not listed anywhere. I asked our server who rapidly rattled off prices but did not give any detail about some of the choices. Confused I ended up ordering from the daily specials steamed clams "to share". The portion was a teaser for my husband and myself. I thought it came with corn but the server said "no, the menu was confusing" Chowder and clam cakes (fritters) were extra. Even bread would have been an extra. Service was prompt and the food was acceptable but I left hungry. We opted for dessert across the street at their ice cream stand. Pricey for what you get at both places.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

A trip to Narragansett would not be complete with out a trip to Aunt Carries. It is a very family oriented restaurant. The food is excellent and you get a great deal for the price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Carrie's Restaurant also viewed

 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Aunt Carrie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Carrie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.