We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boat Ride - Great Destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Block Island Ferry

Block Island Ferry
304 Great Island Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882
(401) 783-7996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Narragansett
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Block Island Ferry is your fastest link to Block Island, Rhode Island. Interstate Navigation Company, Inc. operates the Block Island Ferry, and is the only year-round ferry service to Block Island. Based in Point Judith, (Narragansett), Rhode Island, the Block island Ferry offers Traditional ferry service, (55 minute voyage) as well as the fastest ferry trip from the mainland on the High speed ferry service, (30 minute cruise).If your trip to Block Island is for business, a family vacation, or an island weekend getaway, the Block Island Ferry will get you to Block Island quickly and easily. The Block Island Ferry is the only vehicle ferry service to Block Island. We transport passenger vehicles, commercial trucks as well as shipping freight. The Block Island Ferry is your full service ferry company. We have the most departures and convenient ferry schedule from the mainland which allows you greater flexibility when traveling to and from Block Island on our traditional or high speed ferry!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great Boat Ride - Great Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Block Island Ferries (high speed and traditional) are worth the effort. The destination- Block Island- has a host of offerings. Destination dining on the waterfront at Old Harbor is a feature.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Schilde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a must do if you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just a 55 minute ferry to discover the beautiful small block island that is worth touring by bike. The ferry staff is very friendly and we had a very smooth trip (admittedly the ocean was as calm as could be)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“sweet smell of the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We took the regular ferry ride over to Block Island. Easy on and off and not too crowded on a rainy day. Enjoyable to see what else is out in the bay and going out to sea to fish or sailing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Slow ferry to Block Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went by the Tradional ferry to Block Island. It was nice, though a bit pricey for a family of 6.
If you get have a tendency towards sea sickness, stay on the top deck and you'll be fine. I made the mistake of going to the first level to eat lunch by the tables and was very very nauseaus but on the top level, it was lovely with great views and very relaxing. Though I feel they should crack down on those who were smoking on deck.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great service to a lovely island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

On recommendation we took the ferry to Block Island for the day.
We used the traditional ferry as it was cheaper and the times suited us better. It only take around 50 minutes and is very efficient.
The trip was well worth it. We hired a tandem and spent the day cycling around this beautiful island.
If you get the chance, go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Block Island Ferry also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Block Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Block Island Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.