We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping and location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground

Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground
1011 Point Judith Road, Narragansett, RI 02882
401-789-8374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 21 things to do in Narragansett
Attraction details
RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great camping and location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

...if you can get in. Reservations open up in January (?) and all the best days are usually taken by those in the know within days...the odd spring and fall weekend can sometimes accomodate...

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great place to camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband & I have tent camped here for the past 3 years. There are also sites for RVs. This is a really nice campsite but you need to book early. The campsites are good sized and landscaped to provide a nice degree of privacy. The sites are woodsy but not overly so. There is plenty of room for 2 tents per site. Campfires are lit on the ground in a firepit surround by stones. Firewood can be purchased at a farm right down the road from the campground. There is no onsight "campstore" but the location of this park provides easy access for all of your needs. This campground is pretty much what you make it....I did not find organized activities there.

The grounds are lovely for walking and biking and all paved. The walk ways vary from pretty level to slightly hilly. There is a play area with swings for kids as well as basketball courts.

They have hot shower facilities in the bathrooms but you have to insert quarters so be sure to bring plenty of change.

The town of Narragansett, Pont Judith and the Block Island Ferry are close by and in Narragansett there is a beach. tThere is no beach at the campsite but clamming is commonplace in the marsh area at the campgrounds at low tide. There are also a couple of pretty good seafood restaurants in Narragansett. George's restaurant is right on the beach and often has live music on their deck. Ilike it there...The food is ok, not the best seafood I've had, but the setting is really nice and very informal.. Parking in the town is tight...so be prepared!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, NJ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Always Great, Always Dependable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Going to break the rules here and write a review BEFORE I GO! How can I do that? I've been to Fisherman's Memorial about 20 times or so, usually around Columbus Day weekend - and we're going again this year! We love this place!

First, you can't beat the location. It's close to everything in this area, from Pt Judith, Galilee, trips to Block Island (by ferry), trips to Newport (a bit of a ride, but not too bad), URI, Matunack, you name it. And, it's a great campground. Sites are spacious, spread apart just enough, some trees for separation, and generally surrounded by quiet wooded area (although you can hear traffic on nearby roads at night, which is okay, and in the mornings - you can hear the foghorns off in the distance!). The campground is well run, no late night partying, nice and neat. Tent sites, RV sites, they have it all and all are great. Great playground for the kids, right on the Salt Pond bay, nice location. Saw someone mentioned the bathrooms - hey, they are campground bathrooms, and I've been in a lot worse! The showers are great!

This isn't a KOA, so don't expect a game room or all the crap. This is a basic, really nice place.

I have been here in summer, and the place is PACKED. We usually go in fall, when it's families, a lot of older folks in big RVs, and people heading over to Newport for Ocktoberfest (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!).

We're a family of surfers (could you guess from my name?), and this campground is right near some of the best breaks on the entire east coast of the US, including Pt Judith. After a session surfing some incredible point breaks, the hot showers come in real handy, particularly in the fall. Real close to Iggys, Aunt Carries, and Charley O's for some after-surf food (clam cakes, chowder!!).

Price is really right too.

We love this place, and if you're looking for a basic but really nice campground, you will too. Looking for a KOA with an attached water park, this isn't your place.

Watch for us in October - we're the family from NJ with the surfboards! Say hello!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Just returned from camping at Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground, we stayed here for 4 days. a very well kept campground , did not see any bad sites. Wee had a view of Narragansett Bay. Sites were well spaced for privacy and landscaped, also all were drive throughs, which made it very easy. My husband & I enjoyed our stay in spite of the weather and hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome location- the bathrooms are rough...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Has anyone been here in 2009? We camped summers of 2004-2008 and finally decided we couldn't stand the restrooms any more. It's an awesome location right near Scarborough beach and ferry to Block Island. Peaceful setting, some very private sites if you're in the tent area (with no power/water). Lots of wildlife, tennis courts, playground, sunsets...and so cheap.

We would love to go back- if the showers aren't black anymore! I understand that it's camping, and they aren't going to be like the Hilton- but it felt really gross and unsanitary- and it shouldn't be that way for a state run park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishermen's Memorial State Park & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.