We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Portside Restaurant

Jimmy's Portside Restaurant
321 Great Island Road, Narragansett, RI 02882
4017833821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 83 restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Chowder
Description: On the main street of Galilee right across from the dock of the Block Island Ferry.
Restaurant details
Description: On the main street of Galilee right across from the dock of the Block Island Ferry.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I discovered Jimmy's many Summers ago by default because I wasn't in the mood to wait in line at George's or Champlin's. I was floored by how this place blew the other 2 out of the water. (no pun intended). The Chowder and Clam Cakes are the best in RI. Yes, in RI. that includes Flo's as well. You can get table service indoors by friendly wait staff or order at the take out window and sit outside on the picnic tables and watch the Galilee traffic go by as well as the Ferry coming in from Block Island if you time it right. If you are looking for a treat GO HERE !!! you will not be disappointed.
Jim and Diana
Blackstone, Ma.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    10
    0
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best seafood anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been going here for over 40 years. Chowder and clam cakes are the best but all the food is great and always consistently good. Steak sandwiches and meatball sandwiches are the best. Fries are excellent. What can I say. I love all the food here and service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Best In The Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Portside has been my favorite in the area for years now. Personally I love the Galilee area, and the food here is better than any of the others around in my opinion. It's never as crowded as Aunt Carries and the clam cakes are a little spicier with more pepper and clams. They have a full menu of anything you would want in seafood and the prices are as good as any. I suggest you get your food here and then find a place along the dock or beach to watch the boats coming in an enjoy...Great place, and highly recommended...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you like all your seafood fried and your clam chowder runny - this is the place for you. But if you're looking for more than that - Jimmy's is your average fish shack. We ordered New England Clam Chowder, which, if made right, should be thick enough so that a metal spoon floats in it. Jimmy's chowder wouldn't even float the plastic spoon they provided. The "Clam Cakes" were basically fried dumplings made with clam broth - not even tiny bits of clam. After this disappointing start - we didn't bother to order more.

Outdoor seating is across the road from the water front on picnic tables on asphalt. Would have been nicer if the umbrella's at each table worked - they all lacked the pins needed to keep them open.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fresh off the fishing boat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have been eating here several times each year whenever I come to Rhode Island; and before that, when I lived with my parents. Because most of their business is at the take out window, there is never a long wait. The restaurant is located in the middle of the fishing village right in front of the Block Island Ferry. The seafood is fresh and the portions are large. Everything is delicious. The staff is very friendly and like family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Portside Restaurant also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Jimmy's Portside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Portside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.