We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,nice inn but alittle over priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grinnell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grinnell Inn
83 Narragansett Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882-2711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Narragansett B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good location,nice inn but alittle over priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 3 nights. We were happy with the location, just a short walk to the beach. We did use a wagon for our daughter and all the sand toys. The room was clean, comfortable but kind of small. The owner was very pleasant and had many suggestions for local activities. Breakfast was inclunded which was actually a $10 voucher per person for the attached restaurant. Gratuity was not included. The daily rate was alittle high for what you got though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Grinnell Inn was a very nice place to stay. It was clean which is always a concern when selecting a place to stay it. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. A plus and minus; rooms have hardwood floors which I liked but it made it a bit louder with no noise absorbing carpeting. I always bring ear plugs and had no problems sleeping. Riptides restaurant is a place I would go to whether or not breakfast was included with the stay. In fact, My husband and I discovered the inn last summer 2011 during a visit to Narragansett. We stopped in for breakfast and I fell in love. It became my favorite breakfast spot in the area and only because I haven't yet eaten lunch there...yet. I would stay at the Grinnell inn again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The owners are very accommodating with requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

Great place, clean, friendly staff. Convenient restaurant downstairs with great food. The breakfast that's included is delicious. Bars and restaurants are not within walking distance unless you don't mind walking 20 min each way. We would walk into town and cab it home. Easy to catch a cab at night. I would stay here again. Good value and great location. Also extremely close to Point Judith if you want to take ferry over to Block Island for the day which I recommend. Rent a scooter and tour the island !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

just a stone throw away from narragansett town beach. selena offers guests beach towels, beach toys etc. the rooms are beautiful. and all have a private bath. guests seem very happy .

Room Tip: my favorite room is rose island. i love red!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Grinnell Inn this past July. Our room was fabulous with a nice king size bed, flat screen tv, private bathroom. The Inn is within walking distance of the beach and other area attactions.
We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to get back again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

We cannot speak highly enough of Salena and her staff at the Grinnell Inn. They were exceptionally helpful(especially as we had a baby in our party) and made our stay the highlight of our trip. The room, the Inn's location and charm and the breakfast were also amazing for the value. Great experience and would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

This place was great. We stumbled upon it by chance and were happy we did. It is so clean and the beds were like floating on a cloud. Everything is new, with flat scream tvs. Air conditioned, wifi. And private baths. We were able to park at the inn and walk to the town beach. The best part was the great breakfast we got included with our stay at there restaurant..Riptides. the inn keepers were very helpful..and kid friendly. They had great ideas for day trips and even had beach bags for the kids to use. Next time I return to narragansett we will return to the Grinnell.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grinnell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grinnell Inn

Address: 83 Narragansett Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882-2711
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Grinnell Inn. Built in the 1800s, The Grinnell Inn has been upgraded to include many modern amenities. Each room has a private bath, air conditioning, flat screen TVs and plush bedding. Free Wi-Fi and a full breakfast will complete your stay in Narragansett. We are walking distance to the Narragansett town beach, and a short ride to many fantastic seaside attractions. Our home style restaurant is located on property. BYOB. Children welcome. Beach is located right down the road and is a 5 minute walk from the inn ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grinnell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grinnell Inn to your Saves list