We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Beach Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor Motel
Save
You added The Anchor Motel to your Saves list
825 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Narragansett
Hudson Valley, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Quiet Beach Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

We spent 6 nights at the Anchor Motel in mid-September and couldn't have asked for a more perfect place for a quiet beach vacation with our baby. The owners, Gene and Gail, were friendly but unobtrusive, and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. As others have said, Gene was there 24/7, and they were both always cleaning outside and in.

The room was spotless and kept that way through the week. As others have mentioned, though, the only toiletry provided was soap, so bring your own shampoo, etc. Our room, #6, had a king-size bed and plenty of room on the side for the portable crib; however, one corner was at an angle to allow for the office doorway next door, so other rooms were probably slightly bigger. Ours and the one on the other side of the office didn't have a separate deck - *maybe* we would have spent more time on the deck if it wasn't sort of part of the office entrance.

The location was absolutely perfect - literally steps away from the beach. No need to worry about parking, using public facilities, etc. We were able to even get onto the beach to see the sun rise one morning - just threw on some clothes and stepped out. Since this is a quiet residential area, be aware that you do have to drive or take a cab to get food (the fridge provided is a good-size one, enough to hold groceries). There's no microwave (yet - hint, hint, Gene). Coffee and doughnuts are provided in the morning, but I would suggest getting some doughboys from Iggy's at least once as well. Share some with Gene - he likes them. :)

  • Liked — Location - proximity to beach
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Bergen, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed there for 1 night.

The place is very nice, clean and simple, located across the street from the beach. The owner is very helpful and informative. It might not be the best pace to stay with a small child but other than that I would fully recommed it to anyone who is looking for a simple and clean affordable motel.

The rooms are nice although it would be nice to have a queen- size bed instead of two double beds.

  • Liked — price, location, owner
  • Disliked — lack of larger bed
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

Literally right across the street from Scarborough Beach, this motel was great! Every room has an ocean view and the couple that owns the place is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and parking is convenient. Very family oriented place. Each room has a small porch outside so you can enjoy the views. Very close to shopping in Narragansett and pretty views at Point Judith. Only a few things to note if you do go: 1. bath towels are small so you might want to bring your own. 2. The motel gets hardly any cell phone service (walk down the street and you'll have full service but don't expect to make any calls from your room) 3. The TV didn't get a huge variety of channels - but with the beach right across the street who wants to stay in the room and watch television??

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We have been going to the Anchor Motel every summer for 3 years. How can you hate waking up and walking across a street to a beautiful beach any time you want? Sit on the little porch outside your room with coffee and talk to the other families doing the same thing. It is blessedly quiet. Everything is just a short dirve away. Dont plan on walking anywhere, its just a little too far. There are no restaurants within walking distance. Bring your own towels, snacks and drinks. The owners are very nice and friendly. The other reviewer complainers should have realized this was not resort property with room service and restaurant just by their initial look , I think their comments were a bit unjust.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My family and I wanted a motel close to the beach, we found this at the Anchor.
No frills, just immaculate rums, a proprietor who's there 24/7, always cleaning.
Best part, you walk across the street and there's Scarborough Beach, no crowds,
no parking fees. We didn't come to the ocean to swim in a pool or soak in a spa.
You won't find that here. You get great coffee, donuts, pleasant conversation,
caring folks. There is no problem with the toilets, as another review stated.
If you're dumb enough where you stick wads of paper and clog it up, there is a
nice handle installed which immediately shuts off the water and prevents an
overflow. Wish I had one of those at home, as does anyone with little ones.
I would go back in a heartbeat, fully intend to. Lots of restaurants and shops
and one great ice-cream shop within a couple of miles.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

I've been coming to the Anchor Motel for 10 years now and have not been dissatisfied at all. I may only be 17, but I've known the owners for so long. They are the nicest people I have ever met. Talk about meticulous. The only problem is the towels. They are wicked small, so bring some extra ones if you like big fluffy towels. I dont mind the thin because i dont sit around in my towel like most people do, so i just dry off and throw some clothes on. Another problem is you dont get many TV channels but who the hell watches TV when you're right in front of the beach, I mean seriously. But if you stay here, you will not be dissapointed! :)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

We stayed at this motel based on the recommendations as the #1 motel/hotel in Narragansett.
We were dissappointed at the room, paid $163 with taxes, it should not have been more that $59 a night. The room was not that comfortable. The situation with the toilets is another thing, apparently it can back up on you unles you read special instructions.
Would not stay there again.
But it is always good to check it out on TripAdvisor. I had made other trips to hotels and checked them out on this site and were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Address: 825 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Narragansett
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.