We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN, accommodating owner, and so convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor Motel
825 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Narragansett
Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“CLEAN, accommodating owner, and so convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this motel for about 8 hrs- we had a long drive and needed somewhere to stay before getting the ferry to block island. My husband had difficulty finding a place that would accommodate avery late arrival, but the anchor motel was happy to do so. I come from family that rents beach houses and has done the weekly cleaning themselves for decades because no one else will do it as well. With that in mind, i found our room to be exceptionally clean (even the grout, baseboards, corners). The furnishings are modest but the price reflects that, and the location across from the beach seemed really convenient. Our plan did not include staying in the area longer, but if it had we certainly would have stayed longer at the anchor motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
32
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stumbled upon this little motel and was very pleased with my stay. The staff was friendly and the location cannot be beat. It is directly across from a lovely beach. Prices were reasonable and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about wifi - request a room close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for one night for a last minute beach trip. Would stay again in a heartbeat! It is a modest, family run motel that was clean and quiet. The beach across the street is beautiful and it was so nice to be so close. Lovely.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Anchor Motel is one of those increasingly rare establishments - family-run instead of a franchise. As soon as you arrive you can see the owners care about the place. Everything is well-maintained, clean and efficient, yet, also laid-back and comfortable. Owner's Gene Cournoyer and his daughter, Christine, made us feel at home.

My husband and I found it to be the perfect place to stay during our first visit to Rhode Island. We'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Anchor Motel - two big plusses 1) just across the road from an excellent beach (can go back to the motel to pee even!!!) 2) CLEAN!. The Wifi did not work unless you want to go sit in front of their office, and our TV required me to input a channel number rather than just clicking up/down. But, then again why are you on vacation across from the ocean anyway? You shouldn't be there to watch TV or surf the web. No coffee machine or hair drier. We just brought our own. Rooms are small. No table at all, but the rooms do have a small frig. Close to Point Judith restaurants, and by taking a left out of their parking lot and driving north you find many more restaurants. Did I mention it's RIGHT ACROSS A LITTLE ROAD FROM THE OCEAN? AND IT'S CLEAN!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location, view, staff and clean. Basic motel room, but very clean! Good free coffee and donuts in the morning. We walked to the beach, no $20. parking fee. This was our first time and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden,CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the B & B part of this hotel. Rooms were spotless.
Nothing fancy but more then adequate, You can hear the ocean from your room at night!
Less then 5 minute walk to beach (no parking fees!)
Muffins and Donuts were not the best...but there was fresh coffee waiting outside our room
in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The b&b rooms have a decent size yard in front for the kids to run around in, and it shares a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Address: 825 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Narragansett
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Anchor Motel to your Saves list